Pot Roast Sliders with Creamy Chipotle Sauce

AH.MAZ.ING.

And super easy because it’s all done in the crock pot. All you have to do is put everything in and just …..wait. And smell. And expect to be very, very hungry by the time it’s ready because this stuff will tease you. Seriously.

Okay, I have to confess something. You know how slow cooker recipes will give you an approximate cooking time for low vs high heat? Well, in the case of slow cooking poultry I have to say that it’s almost always on target. But for beef roasts and the like, well, when I give a cooking time in my recipes, they really are more of just a guideline. And I’ll even tell you why. When I cook a beef roast I always, ALWAYS opt for the lowest setting. This makes for the tenderest meat. This is especially important when you’re aiming for meat that falls apart, which I usually am. I don’t know about you but a lot of the time my recipes aren’t ready in 6 to 8 hours, and sometimes not even in 8 to 10. Of course, sometimes it just depends on the cut of meat, but case in point,  I literally had to leave this in the crock pot for about 15 hours until it was tender enough to shred with two forks. And it was worth it. So don’t be afraid to let it simmer all day.

*UPDATE 11/6/13: I’ve since made this with a venison tenderloin cut into medalions, served over brown rice and it was *~*AWESOME*~* (imagine me singing that) Also, I made the creamy chipotle sauce for those of us who wanted to stir it in….yeah….it was fabulous. So if you’ve got deer meat, don’t be afraid to try this recipe- you will not be sorry!

 

potroastsliders

Pot Roast Sliders 

3.5 – 4 lb. beef roast

1 envelope Italian dressing mix

1 envelope onion soup mix

1 envelop au jus mix (or 2 T beef boullion)

1 cup water

1 cup salsa

swiss cheese, sliced

Small rolls (I used mini kaiser buns)

1. Spray your slow cooker with cooking spray and place roast inside. Combine the 3 envelopes of mixes with the water and salsa well and then pour over the meat. Set on low and give it at least 8 hours. Turn the meat every 2 hours or so, allowing each side to simmer in the juices.

2. Once the meat is tender enough, shred it and return to the slow cooker.

3. To assemble the sandwiches, split a hawaiian roll, or bread of your choice. On the bottom half place a slice of swiss cheese. On the top half smear some creamy chipotle sauce, then place desired amount of shredded beef in between.

4. Nom nom nom.

Creamy Chipotle Sauce

1/4 cup sour cream

1 tsp sriracha chili sauce

1 tsp horseradish or horseradish sauce

 Combine these ingredients well and allow time to chill in refrigerator. Make extra if you like a lot of sauce 🙂

Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Marvelous Mondays, What’d You Do This Weekend?, Meal Plan Monday, Monday Funday, Motivate Me Monday, Inspiration Monday, Inspire Me Monday, Mix it up Monday, Making it MondayTitus 2 Tuesday, Tuesday’s at Our Home, Totally Tasty Tuesdays, Tasty Tuesdays, Tastefully Tuesdays, Two Cup Tuesday, In  Out of the Kitchen, Time to Sparkle, Simple Supper Tuesdays, Tuesday’s Table, Wednesday Extravaganza, Cast Party Wednesday, Wake Up Wednesdays, Lovely Ladies Linky, Wow Me Wednesday, Look What I Made Wednesday, Creative Wednesday, Wednesday Whatsits, Show & Share Wednesday, Thursday’s Treasures, Full Plate Thurs, The Project Stash, Fantastic Thurs, Thriving Thurs, Tasty Thursday, Get Him Fed Friday, Weekend Potluck,  Foodie Friday, Flash Friday, TGIF, The Party Bunch, Friday Linky Party, Super Saturday, Spotlight Saturday, Strut Your Stuff, Show & Tell Saturday, Serenity You, Show Stopper Saturday, Your Great Ideas, Random Recipe Roundup, Sunday Showoff, A Bouquet of Talent, Think Pink Sunday, Bewitch Me, DIY Sunday, Nifty Thrifty 

FEATURED AT MAKING MONDAY #11!

FEATURED AT WEDNESDAY WHATSIT #82!

FEATURED AT FULL PLATE THURSDAY!

23 thoughts on “Pot Roast Sliders with Creamy Chipotle Sauce

  1. What a great idea! I would have NEVER thought of that! I bet that mayo is amazing as well. I know what you mean about the timing of slow cookers. Sometimes it takes more than 12 hours for me too!

  2. ooooo this looks great! My husband is a huge hunter so we have loads of venison and I’ve just been searching and searching for some recipes I can tweak. I’m going to try this for sure. Thank you for sharing at Making Monday!!

  3. These sliders look so delicious! I just got a crock pot and I’ve been looking for some ideas and recipes to try. I know the family would love this. Just stopping by from Melt in Your Mouth Mondays, and now following. Stop by soon, I’m hosting a fun giveaway this week and would love for you to be a part of it. Blessings, Catherine xo

  4. Pingback: Wednesday Whatsits (82) - White Lights on Wednesday

Leave a comment