Slow Cooker Coq au Vin

Holy Cow this was good! The picture does not do the flavor of this dish justice. It was sooooooo delicious! Traditionally Coq au Vin is made with chicken thighs and served with mashed potatoes, but here I simplified everything by making it in the crock pot with boneless, skinless breasts and serving it with little baby bakers. If you are a Coq au Vin fan you will not be diasappointed.

pizap.com10.41852376842871311363173709328

Slow Cooker Coq au Vin

nonstick cooking spray

4 large chicken breasts, boneless and skinless

1 envelope onion soup mix

8 0z. quartered mushrooms

1 large shallot, sliced

1 cup baby carrots

1/2 cup dry red wine

1/4 cup water

pizap.com10.129075710196048021363173817609

Lightly coat large skillet and brown chicken pieces (I cut my breasts into halves). Drain off fat.

In crock pot, spray the inside of the cooker and place browned chicken in the bottom. Sprinkle with dry soup mix. Add mushrooms, shallots, and carrots. Pour wine and water over all.

Place on low for 6 hours, or high for 3, and stir it every once in a while. Serve with potatoes or egg noodles.

button

Miz-Helen-Badge-ALT5

6 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Coq au Vin

  1. Oh boy – this looks so great! i remember making this dish (not crock pot) for my very first dish when I was a new wife – for my parents. I was trying to be really grown up so I made the chicken and a beautiful salad. But, when I was at the store I wanted some “special” tea to serve instead of just plain old Lipton’s so I bought a beautifully packaged tea called “Senna” tea. Mom, dad, and new husband ate and drank the tea like it was great although – to me it tasted off. After dinner, dad asked what kind of tea it was. When I told him, he started laughing and said he was glad the next day was Saturday because we would all be staying close to the house – Senna tea is a laxative and should only be taken in small amounts!!!

  2. I love that you made this classic Coq Au Vin in the slow cooker, it looks awesome! Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

Leave a comment