Apple Butterscotch Cake

This was such a yummy and simple dessert to throw together. I am a big apple fan. The only one here who hasn’t gotten on board the apple train is Number Two, but I think it’s just a matter of time 🙂 There are so many things you can do with apples and it’s a much healthier way to eat a dessert (well, that’s what I tell myself anyway!)  I hope you enjoy this as much as we do!

Apple Butterscotch Cake

1 cup chopped pecans

2 cups firmly packed dark brown sugar

1 cup melted butter

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour (I use 1/2 unbleached and 1/2 whole wheat)

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

3 cups Granny Smith apples, peeled and diced (about 1 1/2 lbs.)

1. Preheat oven to 350*

2. Stir together brown sugar, butter, eggs, and vanilla.

3. Stir together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to brown sugar mixture and stir until blended.

4. Mix in apples and pecans. Pour batter into greased and floured 9×13 pan; spread in an even layer.

5. Bake 35-45 mins. or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely (1 hour) then cut into squares.

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

3 thoughts on “Apple Butterscotch Cake

Leave a comment