Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

This was awesome! I found the recipe at Sumptuous Spoonfuls blogsite and just had to try it. You can link over to her page to see her recipe, but here I will post the adapted recipe I used. The best part about this sweet bread is that the kids can’t tell there is any zucchini in it AT ALL, so I don’t mind letting them snack on it even for breakfast. Some zucchini breads have very visible strands of zucchini in them, but this one doesn’t. The taste is great and it was an all-around winner in this house.

Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

2 squares (1 oz. each) of bakers chocolate, melted

1/4 cup carob baking powder

2 eggs

2 egg whites

1 1/4 cup organic sugar

1/3 cup EVOO

1/3 cup organic vanilla yogurt (about 4 oz)

2 1/2 cups grated zucchini

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup whole wheat flour

3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1/4 cup flaxseeds

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 cup chocolate chips, any kind you like (I used 2 kinds: semi-sweet and milk chocolate. I would have loved dark chips if I’d had any in the house, so I highly recommend them if you like dark chocolate!)

1. Preheat oven to 350*

2. Spray 2 loaf pans with cooking spray. *I used one loaf pan and one mini-loaf pan, which made 8 mini loaves.

3. In a large bowl, combine chocolate, carob powder, eggs and whites, sugar, oil, yogurt, zucchini, and vanilla. Beat well.

4. Stir in the flour, baking soda, salt, flaxseeds, and cinnamon.

5. Fold in chocolate chips.

6. Pour batter into prepared pans. Sprinkle the tops with additional raw sugar.

7. Bake full loaf for 50 minutes; mini loaves for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center clean.

1 thought on “Chocolate-Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

Leave a comment