Chived Yorkshire Puddings

I love Yorkshire pudding. Ever had it? This dense bread-like popover is an English staple with juicy, prime cuts of beef because it so beautifully soaks up the juices. It’s also been called the batter pudding or the “dripping” pudding. I haven’t had any in a very long time so the other night as I was making Coq au Vin for dinner, I thought, “I bet that would go together pretty good.” And it did.

yorkshire

Chived Yorkshire Pudding

3 large eggs

1 1/2 cups milk

1 cup flour

salt & pepper

2 tsp dried chives, or 2 T freshly chopped chives

1/4 cup oil

1. Preheat oven to 450*. In a medium bowl beat together the eggs and milk. Stir in the flour, 1.2 tsp salt and pinch of pepper. Gently stir in the chives, then let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.

2. Brush 12-cup muffin pans, or 6 jumbo-cup pan, with the oil. Place empty pan(s) in oven and let stand until hot, about 5 minutes.

3. Transfer the muffin pan(s) to a heatproof work surface and quickly begin adding in 1/4 cup of batter to each muffin cup. *If making 6 large puddings just divide the batter evenly, 1/2 cup each.

4. Bake until puffed and golden brown, about 15 minutes.

5. Run a knife around each cup to loosen and serve immediately.

Full Plate Thursday, Thursday’s Treasures, Foodie Friday, Get Him Fed, TGIF, Weekend Potluck, Saturday Spotlight, Strut Your Stuff, Feed Me Friday, Super Sunday, Super Saturday, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Marvelous Mondays, What’d You Do This Weekend?, Simple Supper Tuesday, Tasty Tuesdays, Tuesday’s Table, In & Out of the Kitchen

13 thoughts on “Chived Yorkshire Puddings

  1. I think I need to make yorkshire pudding. I have to tell you I had know idea what it was, but I’ve always heard of it. My kids are 3/4s English so I think it would be fun to make such a traditional treat. Thank you for sharing this with us on foodie friday. Pinning it.

  2. I LOVE Yorshire pudding, but was under the impression you had to make it with the meat drippings. I don’t make roast and rarely eat red meat so never have attempted myself. I must try these! I’m pinning!

Leave a Reply

