Oven-Roasted Okra

I love oven roasted veggies. It is my favorite way to enjoy all vegetables in a fresh and delicious way. I want to know that when I’m eating vegetables that I haven’t cooked all their nutrients away, and by roasting them in the oven you have limitless options for flavoring to boot.

My favorite veggies prepared this way are brussel sprouts and asparagus, but I’ve been known to enjoy fresh green beans and squash and zucchini as well. Now it’s time for okra to take a step in the spotlight. If you’ve only eaten it breaded and fried, or in a slimy soup, then you may not know how awesome okra really is.

Now, you can easily cut these babies length-wise for the same delicious flavor, but for more even cooking and the best taste results, I cut them into 1/2-inch bites sized pieces. Seasonings are truly limitless (think garlic powder, parmesan cheese, thyme, rosemary, smoked paprika, the list goes on and on…) but my mainstay is to toss everything in EVOO and salt & pepper. It’s just that easy.

oven roasted okra

Oven-Roasted Okra

8 oz. fresh okra, washed and dried

EVOO

Salt & Pepper

Preheat oven to 400*

Cut tops and tips off the okra and discard. Slice okra into 1/2-inch bite-sized pieces.

Line baking sheet with foil or parchment paper and place okra pieces on it.

Drizzle EVOO and salt and pepper over the okra and toss with your hands to get everything covered evenly.

(Wash hands) …then place sheet in oven for about 20 minutes, or until okra is done to your liking. You may want to use a spatula to stir things up (gently) a bit.

*Sometimes I crank the oven up to 450* depending on the veggie and the thickness of the pieces and how much oil I used. I like my asparagus tips almost crunchy, while the stalks of all the veggies should be tender and fresh but not mushy. You may have to experiment a few times to get it the way you like it. Just keep your eye on it so nothing overcooks and it’ll be fabulous.

Weekend Potluck, Get Him Fed Friday, Foodie Friday, Fidlin’ Fridays, Strut Your Stuff, Saturday Spotlight, Random Recipe Roundup, Super Sunday, In & Out of the Kitchen, Tasty Tuesdays, Simple Supper Tuesday, Tuesday’s Table, Cast Party Wednesday, Wednesday Extravaganza, Wake Up Wednesdays, Two Girls & a Party, Full Plate Thursday, Thursday’s Treasures, Marvelous Mondays, Melt in Your Mouth Monday

 

14 thoughts on “Oven-Roasted Okra

  1. What a great idea! We’ve always either fried, sauteed, or used okra in gumbo. This looks way easier! Also, when we sautee it, my favorite seasoning is a steak seasoning my mother-in-law gave us. I must try this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

