Southwest Chicken Wraps

The other night I was going to a friend’s house for an evening of homemade pesto on pasta, wine, and girlfriends (the best kind of evening!) so I decided to make these easy wraps for all my boys so they would have something for dinner. I know, I’m so nice.

This is a great recipe for when you have leftovers or if you’ve pre-planned a little bit. I knew I was going to make these wraps so I had already poached some chicken breasts and cooked the rice. Then all I had to do was throw everything together and it was ready in no time.

southwestchix1

Southwest Chicken Wraps

1 cup cooked rice*

1 cup cooked & shredded chicken

1 can black beans, drained & rinsed

1 (4 0z) can chopped green chiles

1/4 cup bell pepper, chopped **

1/4 cup red onion, chopped fine

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

juice of 1 lime

1 tsp chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp southwest seasoning

2 cups shredded cheddar

flour tortillas

southwestchix2

Preheat oven to 350* and line a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper.

Mix rice together with the chili powder, cumin, and garlic salt. *If using precooked rice make sure it is not cold; room temp or even a bit warm is best.

Add the remaining ingredients except for the cheese because you may not use it all, though mixing it into the chicken mixture would certainly not be a crime, so by all means do it that way of you wish. **For the bell peppers I used 3 mini yellow bells. You can use any colors you like.

Arrange cheese and chicken in the center of tortillas and fold in the sides, making a little pillow. Place seam side down on the baking sheet. Bake for about 10 or 15 minutes or just until the tortillas brown slightly.

Serve with avocado, sour cream, salsa, green onions, and tomatoes. Yum! Recipe yields about 6 burrito-sized wraps or a dozen smaller (6 inch) wraps.

Wednesday Extravaganza, Cast Party Wednesday, What’s in Your Kitchen, Thursday Treasures, Full Plate Thursday, Weekend Potluck, Foodie Friday, TGIF, Saturday Spotlight, Melt in Your Mouth Monday, Marvelous Mondays

9 thoughts on “Southwest Chicken Wraps

  1. I love making wraps and these look fantastic! I don’t know how to email you but I want to tell you about a site that really great just like RecipeNewZ and you know how I love them!! It’s called My Recipe Magic and it rivals RNZ for traffic AND you can make a little money with it! You have great recipes so I want to encourage you to go visit and sign up to be a chef then start posting. http://www.myrecipemagic.com/home/recipes Here’s the address – go look at it and see what you think!

  2. Thank you, thank you! I am so tired of my chicken recipes and this is new to me! I have been craving something like this. Visiting from Marvelous Mondays blog hop and following you via Pinterest….pinning this too on my “Mouthwatering” board!

Leave a Reply

