Macaroni Salad & a Shine On Award

I love this macaroni salad. This is the recipe I grew up with, and although I don’t make it often, it always tastes like home to me. The great thing about this salad  is that it is a little different from most and yet it still has that creamy base that you expect when you dig into this picnic classic.

This recipe makes a huge amount of food, which is great if you’re going to a BBQ, but I usually cut it in half and it’s still plenty for my family of four. Leftovers are even better the next day 🙂

pizap.com10.0239471653476357461364909888515

Macaroni Salad

1 pound small pasta (I prefer elbows)

2 cups mayonnaise

4 green onions, thinly sliced*

10-12 radishes, quartered and thinly sliced

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp white pepper

pizap.com10.71327871503308421364910103625

1. Cook the pasta according to package directions; until al dente. I use the whole wheat pasta. Drain and cool quickly in cold water. Drain again and shake out as much water as possible.

2. While the pasta is cooking slice your onions and radishes. *Make sure you use all of the onion, the greens too.

3. Combine all of the ingredients and taste to make sure the salt and pepper are to your liking. It will look like a lot of mayo but it’s okay.

4. Chill in the refrigerator well before serving. Make sure you have time to chill so the mayo and flavors can blend.

5. Stir it up before serving and taste to see if you need more salt or pepper.

Enjoy this with your favorite meal off the grill or with anything you’d like 🙂

Foodiefridaylogo

weekend-potluck-buttong1

shine-award_thumb

THE SHINE ON AWARD

I have been so blessed recently with wonderful readers and fellow bloggers. I have another award nomination to share with you and it’s called the Shine On Award given to me by Cheryl over at The Hasty Tasty Meals Kitchen.

The Shine On Award Rules

  1. Link back to and thank the blogger who nominated you.
  2. Post the badge on your blog.
  3. Answer the questions posed to you.
  4. Nominate five bloggers who shine a little light in your day and notify them.
  5. Ask five questions for your nominees.

Cheryl’s Questions for the Nominees:

1. What attracts you to a recipe blog?

The first thing I look for is simplicity. Blogs that have tons of ads or too much going on just make things difficult to navigate. I like recipes that are clean eating  and different, and I like any blogs that offer great tips on scratch cooking and keeping costs down. 

2. What is your favorite type of recipe to post?

My favorite type of recipe is anything that’s not on the current foodie blog circuit. 

3. Are you a fan of TV cooking shows? If so, name your favorite.

I love to watch Chopped and Take Home Chef, mostly.

4. Do you prefer dining at home over dining in a restaurant?

 I still love to eat out if it’s something really good like steak because I don’t do that very well, but I also like dining at home and enjoying my efforts.

5. What is your go-to cookbook, the one you refer to most often?

My mom made me a cookbook of family and friends’ recipes and I use that most of the time.  

5 Blogs that I’ve Nominated are:

VegHotPot  She’s always got creative and healthy dishes.

Unwind Cooking  One who understands the importance of drinking wine while cooking, and a great collection of recipes that fit any mood.

Mackin’ Cheese  A great new blog for me. I love her approach toward food.

Hungry Little Girl Great recipes and an awesome linky party place.

My Whole Food Life My kind of cookin’; my kind of girl.

My Questions for the Nominees:

1. What’s your favorite/most used kitchen utensil?

2. Do you prefer to cook main dishes or desserts? 

3. What can you not do/cook very well that you’d like to improve on?

4. How many nights a week do you cook vs. eating out?

5. What is your number one viewed/liked/pinned recipe?

Thank you again, Cheryl @ The Hasty Tasty Meals Kitchen, and congrats to the nominees 🙂

12 thoughts on “Macaroni Salad & a Shine On Award

  1. Thanks for giving me five more food blogs to follow (and I will!). I love to talk cooking!

    You deserve an award because your recipes are wholesome and economical. Right up my (g)alley! LOL

Leave a Reply

