Sweet Potato Cornbread

I had a feeling when I decided to try this recipe that I would love it, but I had no idea how truly fabulous it would be. While this was baking in my oven, my kitchen filled up with a sweet, heavenly smell that I could not define as sweet potato or pumpkin, or even cornbread. It was just awesome and warm and comforting. Ahh…the aroma itself was rewarding, but the taste was even better 🙂 Make sure you have some butter on hand to smear over each bite.

pizap_com10_70752404909580951361454129781

Sweet Potato Cornbread

3 large eggs

1/2 cup EVOO

3/4 cup sweet potato puree

3/4 cup brown sugar, packed

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup all-purpose GF flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

pinch sea salt

sweet potato cornbread 003

Preheat oven to 350*.   Grease a cake pan or springform pan; dust with cornmeal.

Using a mixmaster, whisk eggs until foamy. Add the EVOO and combine well. Stir in puree, brown sugar, and vanilla.

In a separate bowl whisk together the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and pie spice.

On lowest setting, add the dry ingredients to the wet in mixer until just combined. Use a spatula to scrape the sides and incorporate all the ingredients together. Batter should be smooth and not over mixed.

Pour batter into prepared cake pan. Bake for 35-45 minutes until cornbread is firm and golden. Oven temps can vary. Keep an eye on it and use a toothpick to check the center. My oven baked this recipe closer to 35 minutes.

Allow the cornbread to cool in the pan, on a wire rack, for about ten minutes. Remove from pan and continue to cool. Serve warm with butter.

button

Miz-Helen-Badge-ALT5

7 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Cornbread

  1. What a great idea. I love sweet potatoes. I adore cornbread. I’ll probably make it with a bit less sugar…but I’m so glad you pioneered the recipe!

Leave a Reply

