Gluten Free Macaroni & Cheese

One of the things I am loving about this gluten-free experiment is how many great alternatives there are to all the favorites. For example, I used Bob’s Red Mill Brownie Mix yesterday and made the boys a whole pan of yummy, chocolately brownies. I love these products because I trust them and I don’t have to stress over making everything from scratch.

Another yummy comfort food I made recently was Macaroni and Cheese. Who doesn’t love it? I took my basic recipe and just swapped out the regular pasta for brown rice noodles. I noticed when making a GF roux that the ingredients were much more blobby than when using regular flour, and since we’re aiming for a sauce I had to increase the measurements in milk and butter. It was still very elastic-y, which I find ironic considering what gluten actually is.

pizap_com10_16595839848741891360072219718

GF Macaroni and Cheese

1 cup brown rice pasta, cooked

3 T butter, divided

1 T GF flour

1/4 cup milk

1 cup shredded cheddar, or cheddar blend

2 Laughing Cow wedges

salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 350* and grease a 1 quart baking dish.

Make a roux with the flour and 2 T of butter. Whisk in the milk.

Add the cheese and stir until melted in. Add the last T of butter if needed to make the sauce less blobby. It really depends on what cheeses you use, I suspect.

Salt & pepper. Fold cheese sauce into pasta.

Transfer to baking dish and bake for about 20 minutes or until heated through.

*This is a small recipe that will yield 4 or 5 servings. For a full-sized recipe just double the ingredients.

tempt tuesday

 

Leave a Reply

