Tiramisu Cupcakes

Last week I posted a recipe for Cannoli Tarts that I made for an Italian-themed dinner I went to, but what I didn’t mention was that I made these fabulous little Tiramisu cupcakes as well.

I got this recipe from Life Is Sweets and I knew this was something I needed to make, not only for the dinner but because I LOVE Tiramisu. And even though it’s a bit of a cheat because you use cake batter instead of lady fingers, it’s surprisingly close in taste to a real tiramisu, and even better is that it does not have any rum  or kahlua in it, so it’s great for everyone. (Yes, I know alcohol cooks off, but there are some people who do not like eating things that have a strong alcohol taste, my hubby included.)

pizap_com10_92627662420272831358776043312

Tiramisu Cupcakes

*Basic Yellow Cake Batter

8 oz. mascarpone cheese

1 cup heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup powdered sugar

unsweetened cocoa

chocolate, for grating/shaving

pizap_com10_91262174025177961358775741781

1. Bake cupcakes according to package/recipe directions. *I always use foil liners. I prefer them over paper liners any day. Everything usually comes out of a foil liner perfectly, but not always so with paper. Also, you will be soaking the cake in coffee and the foil will not soak through.

2. Allow the cupcakes to cool. Then use a wooden skewer and poke a lot of holes in the cupcakes.

3. Make a strong cup of coffee and spoon over the cupcakes slowly, so that the coffee is absorbed into the cakes. Spooning 1 tsp at a time until the coffee is all gone, at least 5 tsp per cupcake. Don’t worry if this seems too much. You want that sponge cake effect and after you refrigerate them they will firm back up a bit.

4. Whip up the heavy cream until it’s firm and has stiff peaks.

5. In a nother bowl, combine the mascarpone cheese and powdered sugar, then fold into the whipped cream.

6. Using a large ziplock or frosting bag, snip off a corner and pipe frosting onto the cupcakes.

7. Garnish with cocoa and/or grated chocolate.

8. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

tempt tuesday

 Button%20Wednesday

6 thoughts on “Tiramisu Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

