Caramel Cake

You’re saying, “This, again?!!”

YES!

Listen to me peeps, I’m not kidding. You will thank me, I promise. No other cake will EVER compare for you ever again. Okay, maybe not quite, BUT since it’s Hubby’s birthday and this is his favorite cake…AND because the majority of my current readers probably aren’t aware that I’ve posted about this fantastic recipe before, I decided to reboot the caramel frosting recipe and post for you. I’m also including a recipe for made from scratch yellow cake as well.

I mean it…. you’re welcome.

pizap_com10_251974160317331551358723915375

Yellow Cake

2 cups *cake flour

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

3 eggs, room temp

2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350*. Grease cake pans (2 9-inch, 9×13, 24 muffin tins).

*I never have cake flour in the house. Luckily there is an easy substitution using regular flour. For every cup of regular all-purpose flour, remove 2 tablespoons and replace with 2 T of cornstarch. Sift many, many times. At least three times. Do not skip this step.

In bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. beat in eggs, one at a time. Add vanilla and mix completely.

Slowly add flour, alternating with the addition of the milk. When finished the batter should be smooth.

Baking times:

Muffins: 15 – 20 minutes

2 9-inch pans: 20 – 25 minutes

9×13 pan: 30 – 35 minutes

Cool for 5 minutes, then invert onto cooling rack (except for the 9×13). Cool completely before frosting.

1-20-13 010

Caramel Frosting

4 oz. can evaporated milk

1 stick butter

1 cup & 3 T tightly packed brown sugar

2 tsp vanilla

3 cups powdered sugar

1/2 tsp *water

Combine the evaporated milk, butter, and brown sugar in saucepan and boil for 10 or 15 minutes, stirring, until the sugar cooks down and it’s all carmelized and lovely.  Be careful not to burn.

Take the mixture and put into a metal bowl. Use a mixmaster or hand mixer an add in the vanilla and the powdered sugar. Scrape down the sides as it’s mixing.

*Add a 1/4 tsp of water. You can add up to 1 tsp but go very slowly. Get it the consistency you like.

Frost your cake or cupcakes with a thick layer of frosting, grab a glass of cold milk, and prepare to feel a little euphoric.

Does this cake look small to you? I used Wilton’s 4.5-inch cake pans to make a mini cake 🙂 It’s 50% smaller than a regular 2-layer cake. Perfect for those who don’t want (or need) a ton of leftover cake lying around. I used the rest of the batter to make 12 cupcakes. Stay tuned to see what I did with those, later this week….

iStock_000012968778Small129-214x30035

marvelous-mondays

7 thoughts on “Caramel Cake

  1. I saw your link parties above and since I have never participated in them, I thought it would be fun……..except now, i cannot find their buttons to put on my post like you have – can you please tell me where they are……….I’m afraid maybe my computer isn’t bringing them up but I have spent the last 45 minutes trying to find both those you have above!

    • I can’t remember if they had buttons on their site or not. As you know, not everyone has buttons, which I find frustrating as well. In the case someone doesn’t have one or I just can’t find it I’ll make a copy of their icon and link it into my post that way. I don’t know if that’s allowed but I never use someone else’s icon for any other reason. Hope that helps. Are you having any troubles with the links? If you click on the icons they should take you right to the blog hop.

Leave a Reply

