Carrot Mash Bake

I have referred to this recipe many times in my posts. There is a link from about a year ago that basically gives you the recipe, but I have always felt that this dish deserved its own post. As often as I make this the main reason I have not featured it is because there is usually nothing left to photograph. This time I wised up and made two 🙂 Though as you will see, it’s not a dish that photographs well. But let me assure you…the taste is fabulous!

Even if you don’t like carrots you will probably like this. I’m not kidding. I am not a cooked carrot kind of girl. Although I love raw carrots and enjoy them in soups, I have never set a bowl of cooked carrots, glazed or otherwise, on my dinner table. They do not appeal to me at all.

If that describes you then boy are you in for a surprise! Hubby and Number One both love this dish. Friends and family have asked for the recipe. Everyone is surprised to learn it is carrot and not sweet potato.

pizap_com10_124532864429056641356644453625

Carrot Mash Bake

1 – 1 1/2 lbs carrots, *peeled, sliced, cooked, and drained

3 eggs

2 T flour

1 tsp baking powder

Dash nutmeg

Dash cinnamon

1 tsp sugar

1/4  cup butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla

Topping:

1/2 cup cornflake **crumbs

3 T brown sugar

2 T butter, melted

1/4 cup walnuts or pecans, chopped, optional

Pudding, Carrot & Potato Mash 004

Preheat oven to 350*. Lightly grease a 1 & 1/2 or 2-qt casserole dish.

Puree cooked carrots in a blender or food processor. *I use the bagged baby carrots. They cook right up in the bag. Just microwave for 5 minutes or until done. Be careful opening the bag. Lots of steam.

Add the eggs to the carrot puree, one at a time, and blend well.

Combine the flour, baking powder, nutmeg, cinnamon, and sugar. Add to carrots in food processor.

Incorporate the butter and vanilla. Puree until smooth. Pour into prepared casserole dish.

For the topping, combine cornflake crumbs with brown sugar and melted butter. **This is about 2 cups of corn flakes, crushed down to crumbs. I use my hands. You can use a food processor but then the crumbs get too fine.

Use a fork to mix the flakes and sugar up with the butter. You should have a wonderful crumbly mixture. Add in nuts if desired. Sprinkle over the top of the carrot mixture.

Place foil over casserole dish and bake for 20-30 minutes. Remove foil and bake another 25 minutes.

iStock_000012968778Small129-214x30035

Leave a Reply

