Triple Chocolate Tres Leches Trifle

This cake was meant to be an actual sheet cake. Since it didn’t quite work out as intended I have proof here that you can make a trifle out of anything 🙂

We were heading out the door for a Christmas party and my job was to bring dessert. The cake recipe isn’t that hard, which you will see below, but I was in a bit too much of a hurry and well….you only get one shot to get it right, if you know what I mean.

First I will give you the original recipe and then I will tell you what changes I made to make the trifle.

pizap_com10_39249856863170861356305330606

Triple Chocolate Tres Leches Cake

1 pkg (2-layer cake) devil’s food cake mix

8 oz semi-sweet baking chocolate

1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk

1 can (12 oz) evaporated milk

1/2 cup sour cream

1 T unsweetened cocoa powder

1 cup cool whip, thawed

1. Prepare the cake batter as directed on package in a 9×13-inch pan. Cool on wire rack for 10 mins (in pan). Pierce the cake with a large fork at 1/2-inch intervals.

2. Melt the chocolate squares. Blend the milks and sour cream in mixer until smooth. Add melted chocolate; blend well. Pour over cake, re-piercing if necessary until milk mixture is absorbed. *Note: this is most likely where I messed up. I did not pour the mixture slowly enough, therefore it never completely absorbed into the cake. Take your time! Refrigerate one hour.

3. Stir cocoa in cool whip. Frost cake with cool whip mixture. Keep refrigerated.

IMG_2554

Trifle

Do steps 1 and 2. Instead of cool whip I ended up using a whipped buttercream frosting which I stirred cocoa into. I felt the frosting mixture would hold up better in a trifle, but the cool whip would probably work well if the trifle is going to be eaten sooner rather than later. I also did put a final cool whip layer on the very top along with some Christmas sprinkles (not pictured).

1st layer: 1/2 cake, crumbled

2nd layer: whipped frosting/cool whip

3rd layer: 1/2 cake, crumbled

4th layer: whipped frosting/cool whip

Topping suggestions: chocolate curls, grated chocolate, sprinkles, caramel sauce, etc.

j0441343-1-1

Leave a Reply

