DIY Gift Jar Round-Up

We’ve all seen the wall pics and posters and advertisments all over the place that talk about buying LOCAL for Christmas instead of shopping at big stores that carry items made in China. In fact, I even discussed this in a post called Birth of a New Tradition. No Chinese, Please last year around this time. Here’s a refresher:

Most of them seem pretty simple. You go out and get some gift certificates to a local restaurant or hair salon, etc. (And in this tough economy people truly do appreciate gifts like these.) But for the crafty, DIY-type gifts, you my be feeling, well….not so crafty. But these are super easy to put together and can be (and should be) made in bulk so that you have enough handy for those moments when a small something is needed such as a hostess gift, Secret Santa, teacher gifts, or as party favors. For a bigger, more personal gift, try creating a basket with several different jars.

What I love about the gift jars is that there are no rules, so it doesn’t have to be food related. You can make a yummy brown sugar body scrub and pair it with a body brush, or make a sewing kit (yes, I’ve seen those- so cute! Click here for that one.) So here are a few ideas:

 

I made a bunch of these for my church bakesale. It was super easy. I created my own labels/directions using a desktop publishing CD. Add a little ribbon and you’ve got something gift-worthy.

Dry Cream Soup Mix by The Home Heart

  Cowgirl Cookies @ Bakerella

These Marshmallows are the perfect addition to a steaming mug of hot chocolate. What else possibly signifies the winter season better? Package in cellophane bags and tie with a cute, festive ribbon, and you’ve got a great gift. Pair it with some cocoa and you’ve got a gift basket.

Cocoa Candy Cane Marshmallows @ A Field Journal

Cinnamon Honey Butter @ Tidy Mom

Peppermint Stick Cocoa @ My Recipes

Friendship Soup @ All Recipes

Chcoclate Chip & Oatmeal Quickbread @ Sunset

Cinnamon Vanilla Sugar Scrub @ Tidy Mom

S’more Kits @ Twig & Thistle

5 thoughts on “DIY Gift Jar Round-Up

  1. Thank you for all these ideas!! I really want to make my own gifts this year (food-related, not crafts as I am handicapped in that area, haha!) I’m going to look at that chocolate chip quickbread one right now!

  2. Aloha! Do you make use of Twitter mate? If you do, I would really
    feel thankful to follow you. Your blog is great and I read
    it each day. Each update you make on it makes my day a bit sweeter.

Leave a Reply

