Time for a little reader interaction…

What? This isn’t a recipe!

While I won’t stop cooking and posting eats 🙂 I will from time to time blog about well….writing in general. Since that was my motivating factor for blogging in the first place.

So, here’s your first assignment. (Pretty please) Read the hook below and tell me anything and everything you think.

16-year-old Jade Casteel and her friends don’t like rules very much. When a joyride spirals out of control, Jade finds herself in a mental hospital with no memory of how she got there.

Does it intrigue you?

Does this simplified statement convey enough about a complex story with multiple characters and plotlines, enough to generate interest?

Is it too open-ended? Or is the conflict clear?

Should the wording be stronger (i.e. verbs, nouns, adjectives) ?

Do you get enough of a feel for the protagonist, the conflict(s) and/or the stakes at risk?

Is the hook too cliché? How would you change the wording?

A few tidbits of info. for reshaping the hook:  She doesn’t know where her friends are or what’s happened to them. She doesn’t know where she belongs (school, friends, society, etc.)

~ Feel free to critique and offer helpful suggestions.  Thanks!! ~

BTW Just for a {very great} laugh, check out this blog post by author Nathan Bransford. I’ve been having a tough few days here at the old laptop- frying my brain with query research and all- and this just made me laugh until I cried. It was just what I needed! You other writers out there will definitely appreciate it 🙂

The Publishing Process in GIF Form

7 thoughts on “Time for a little reader interaction…

  1. I love the idea and the second sentence is intriguing to say the least – I would punch up the first sentence – it took me there too quickly I think. Not that I’m an expert or anything – It might help to have alittle background and show why Jade and her friends don’t like rules – like they were skipping school etc…. Just my 2 cents! love your stuff!

Leave a Reply

