Chicken Schnitzel with Spaetzle

Well, I finally made it! I think I’ve put this on the last 4 monthly menus. It’s not because this is a difficult recipe to make, quite the contrary, but life has a way of getting in the way and so I’ve not been able to make this meal before now.

Spaetzle is a yummy pasta alternative. Small and firm, it goes great with a little butter, salt & pepper, and as a side to schnitzel.

Schnitzel, of course, is merely a way of cooking. Commonly made of pork or chicken, the thin cutlets are pounded to a 1/4-inch thickness and then dredged in flour, dipped in egg and bread crumbs, and then lightly pan-fried. Salt and pepper are definitely in order as they are the prime seasoning agents.

Schnitzel Recipe

3 slices day-old wheat bread*, torn

1/2 cup flour (1/2 unbleached, 1/2 whole wheat)

salt & pepper

2 eggs

3/4 cup EVOO

4 chicken breasts, butterflied (if necessary) and cut into cutlets

1. Using a food processor, pulse the bread until finely ground. *You can use panko in place of the bread crumbs, or use a combination of both. The bread crumbs give this dish a more authentic flavor so I would suggest combining the panko or leaving it out all together this time. Place in a shallow bowl.

2. Season the flour with salt and pepper and place in a second shallow bowl.

3. Whisk eggs with 1 tsp EVOO and place in a third shallow bowl.

4. Place the chicken between 2 pieces of waxed paper or plastic wrap and pound into 1/4-inch thick cutlets. Dredge each cutlet in the flour; dip into the egg and then coat with the bread crumbs. Place on a wire rack or non-stickable surface.

5. Heat remaining EVOO in large skillet over medium-high heat. Working in batches, add the cutlets to the hot oil and cook, turning once, until golden, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a paper-towel-lined plate.

Spaetzle

I used a boxed spaetzle. I hope you didn’t think I was going to make those from scratch! I don’t think I’m ready for that kind of commitment yet 🙂 The spaetzle came from Harris Teeter, though I’ve heard some stores carry a frozen version. I’ve yet to find that, but the boxed kind is not  bad. I’ve used it twice now; once for this and another time for my Chicken Spaetzle Soup. The key is to make it with chicken broth if you can and then stir in a few pats of butter before serving.

Leave a Reply

