Polka Dot Pumpkins

Each year I buy different kinds of pumpkins to decorate my front porch or steps or what have you. In our last house we had great big steps that led up to the door and a small flower garden in front of the porch, so I took mini pumpkins and gourds of all sizes and colors and created a small pumpkin patch. Sorry I don’t have any pictures to share though. This picture below is a simple stack I did this year.

In years past I’ve done the cliché bale of hay in the yard (I still think this looks good if done right), decorated with pumpkins and Mums and even a scarecrow or something cute. And I often get great decorating ideas from magazines, my favorite of which is Better Homes and Gardens.

Now I’m not a real big DIY person. Mainly because I just lack the skills and when I do a DIY craft it usually looks cheesy like I’ve done it myself. But about 7 years ago I found a super cute way to dress up moon pumpkins and it was really easy. It has become one of my favorite and standard decorating ideas and I’m sharing it with you today.

What you’ll need are at least three different colored pumpkins and an apple corer, and possibly a hammer to help get the corer through tougher pumpkin skin. Make as many holes as you want, but take care not to mess up your dots. Also make sure that you’ve made the same number of holes in each pumpkin and then divide the dots evenly between each pumpkin, filling up the holes as you go.

The ones I did this year are fairly simple, each with only about 6 dots, but you could do as many as you like- the entire pumpkin if you want. But remember that these pumpkins will rot much faster, especially if the weather is still pretty warm, which it is here in NC.

Cute, right?! 🙂

One thought on “Polka Dot Pumpkins

Leave a Reply

