Pumpkin Spice Latte

If you’ve been keeping up with me on Facebook then you’ll know that I am currently somewhat obsessed with the Pumpkin Spice Latte at Starbucks. But at $5 a pop for a grande this is not economical especially when I can down one in .06 seconds. So I’ve decided to try my hand at making my own, and the results are fair if not mind-boggling.

One thing I had to realize is that I’m simply not going to get the exact same results as Starbucks, mainly because I am making this using more wholesome products rather than some chemical-filled pumpkin flavored syrup. And I’m also lucky enough to have a small espresso machine so the guesswork is eliminated as far as the espresso goes. If you do not have an espresso machine, never fear, one of the two recipes I’m including in this post does not require exact measurements.

Both of these recipes are general guidelines as far as I’m concerned. I like to play around with ingredients and measurements to see what works best for  me. For the lattes I made, I used about 3 shots of espresso and used the machine to froth 1/2 cup of 2% organic milk. Into the hot coffee I stirred in (approximately) 2 tsp vanilla, 1-2 T sugar, 2 T pumpkin puree, and about 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (1/2 in and 1/2 sprinkled on top).

The result was slightly gritty due to the pumpkin puree. I used an emersion blender the second time around but it still had some fibers in it. It wasn’t wholly unpleasant, just not smooth like Starbucks. The overall taste was similar enough that I got my fix, though I am still on the hunt for a better recipe.

Here are the two I’ve gotten so far. The second one is the recipe I based my lattes off of, but of course you know that I didn’t use 1/2 & 1/2.

Copycat Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte

1 cup unsweetened Almond milk

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice

pinch of nutmeg

1 T sugar (or to taste)

2 tsp vanilla

1/2 cup strong coffee

I don’t know if almond milk froths but if you have an espresso machine it’s worth a shot. Otherwise I’d suggest heating it up in a small pot and adding the ingredients slowly, until combined. Top over strong, hot coffee. This is a relatively low-fat version with the almond milk.

Pumpkin Spice Latte #2

2 cup 1/2 & 1/2 (or skim milk, reduced milk, etc)

2 T pumpkin puree

1-2 T sugar (or to taste)

2 T vanilla (this seemed a lot even though I always say you can never have too much vanilla)

1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1-4 shots of espresso

After I made the espresso and poured it into my cup, I added the pumpkin puree and mixed it up real good while the coffee was hot. This is how I make my mochachinos so I figured it would work just as well for pumpkin. The rest of the ingredients went into the hot coffee as well while I frothed the milk. After I poured in the milk, I sprinkled on a bit more pumpkin spice.

The second time I used the emersion blender before topping the coffee off with milk. The difference was slight.

Hopefully I’ll have more recipes to share after a little more research and experimentation, so stay tuned! And if you have any great coffee recipes please share- I’d love it!

 

Leave a Reply

