Bruschetta

I have said it many times: I love Bruschetta. But I realized that I’ve never actually posted it before. This recipe is a staple, especially in the summer months when tomatoes and fresh basil abound. I could literally eat this for days. All I need is a yummy, crusty baguette and I’m good to go.

Now that the weather is turning a bit cooler, I don’t know how much more basil my plant will produce, so I snipped off what was there and made what might very well be the last Bruschetta of the season.

Unfortunately this isn’t the kind of recipe that I have measurements for. It’s strictly a taste-test kind of thing. If I am making a small bowl of Bruschetta just for myself (because the boys don’t like raw tomatoes) then I will cut up just two large romas and add the rest of ingredients by eyeing and tasting it. This recipe was much larger since we had guests in for part of the weekend.

Bruschetta

6 large roma tomatoes, diced

2 to 3 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

2 T EVOO

salt and pepper

1/2 cup fresh, chopped basil

I like lots of basil! You may prefer less. A standard recipe would call for less vinegar, oil and basil, and possibly even garlic. It’s all a matter of taste. If you researched Bruschetta recipes you may even find instructions to parboil the tomatoes and peel off the skin. This is a waste of time if you ask me. I like everything in it and I like my flavors strong. Perhaps what I like about the Bruschetta the most is the freshness of the tomatoes- it just screams summer and refreshing to me.

Chop the garlic and combine it with the vinegar and oil. Pour over the diced tomatoes and toss until everything is mixed well. Add salt and pepper to taste. Allow to sit for a few minutes so the flavors blend. Taste and add more vinegar, salt and pepper, and garlic as necessary.

Toast and slice a baguette and top with the Bruschetta. Yum!!

One thought on “Bruschetta

Leave a Reply

