Savory Skillet Veggies

I don’t know about you but that title alone would not suck me in. You’re just going to have to trust me.

One of my favorite side dish staples is my Skillet Corn. I put it on my monthly menus at least every other month. We rarely eat corn otherwise, unless it’s fresh off the cob or added to a recipe such as soup or chili. So the other night I prepared my new favorite Grilled Balsamic Chicken for dinner and thought the skillet corn would make a great side.

Well, it would have been I am sure….had I the proper ingredients. Instead I improvised and added a bit here and there and viola! I got something even better! So, it may not be completely honest to call this a new recipe when basically it’s a new and improved recipe! (I think I hear some fanfare- yay!)

Savory Skillet Veggies

4 cups fresh or frozen corn kernels

1 cup fresh or frozen lima beans

2 T butter

1/2 cup ricotta cheese

1/4 cup milk (plus more if necessary)

3 T parmesan cheese

3 T chopped fresh basil

1. Heat butter in a large nonstick skillet on medium heat. Add corn and lima beans (or whatever veggies you choose to add) and cook 6 minutes if fresh, 10+ minutes if using frozen. Stir frequently until the veggies are heated through and look a little browned.

2. In a separate bowl mix together the ricotta and milk to make it smooth. Add it to the skillet and cook, stirring for about 3 minutes. Add more milk as needed for consistency, but not too much as it will start to dull the flavors. You don’t want this dish runny.

3. Remove from heat and stir in the parmesan cheese and basil. Keep covered off heat until ready to serve.

*Remember you can never have too much fresh basil!  ENJOY!!

Click the Print & PDF button below for a printer-friendly version of this recipe 🙂

3 thoughts on “Savory Skillet Veggies

  1. I was probably 16 before I knew there was any other kind of corn besides skillet corn – AND I am always suprised to learn that people don’t know what it is! Thanks for the recipe. I’m going to make some tonight along with some lima beans.

  2. Pingback: Skillet Corn and Lima Beans « The Domestically Impaired Guide to the Retro Kitchen Arts

Leave a Reply

