Skillet Macaroni and Cheese

I love homemade macaroni and cheese. My boys prefer the good old-fashioned box kind, and by that I mean Trader Joes or Annie’s organic because I do not do the other stuff, which is why I don’t mind making it for them. But for me, perfect indulgence and comfort food is the homemade mac n cheese. Now, I’m not a crispy-breaded-topping kind of mac and cheese girl either. Just a good, hearty, cheesy, pasta bake that sticks to your ribs (and my thighs, unfortunately)- so I don’t do this often.

Here’s a new recipe I found months ago and have finally made it. It’s definitely not going in the healthy section of my recipe collection- but it was oh so good and super easy to make. In less than 20 minutes you can have an authentic homemade macaroni and cheese dish that even the box lovers will love. (It’s true. Number Two gobbled it up!)

Skillet Macaroni and Cheese

4 T butter

1 small onion, chopped

1/4 tsp oregano

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1 T flour

3 & 1/2 cups half & half

8 oz. macaroni, or pasta of your choice (3 cups dry)

2 cups sharp cheddar (not the pre-shredded packaged kind. It doesn’t melt well)

Parmesan cheese for sprinkling on top

Melt the butter and cook the onion until soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the oregano, salt, pepper and flour, and cook for one minute more.

Add the half & half and pasta and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat to low and simmer for 15 minutes or until pasta is cooked through.

Add the cheese and stir until melted. Serve immediately.

*This macaroni and cheese tends to get really thick after sitting out. So refrigerate any leftovers and reheat with some milk to make it smooth and creamy again.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

