Party Cups

I recently had a get-together at my house. I so love entertaining and cooking for people! All in all there were about 75 people eating, drinking, laughing, and hanging out (not all at once, thank goodness! It was a floating party). I could not have pulled it off without the help of friends who prepared and brought party staples such as a veggie tray, complete with dip, a huge, wonderful fruit tray, a big bowl of mixed nuts, some awesome pimento cheese, as well as some locally baked yeast rolls. All that could have been a meal in itself, but in true Home Heart style I cooked and prepared for two days to make sure all were well fed!

The main attraction was my Hot Chicken Salad, of which I made two huge pans, with only a little left over. Because I always get requests for this recipe I went ahead and printed it off on postcard-sized paper and offered it along with the dish. Needless to say there were no copies left at the end of the evening and I even had to print off two more before my house emptied that night. If you still haven’t tried this dish you are truly missing out. Be sure to click the link above and make it soon. It can easily be halved or doubled. It’s a perfect comfort dish, Sunday dinner, potluck addition, or busy weeknight meal.

So this week will be full of posts and recipes from the party and all the wonderful things I made 🙂 Make sure you stay tuned!

Today’s post is called Party Cups because I wanted to make most of the food party friendly. Finger foods and individual servings are fun! See here what I mean:

Aren’t they cute? And so convenient! Not only were the dips yummy, but they were perfectly portioned and easy to make.

I admit, I didn’t make the ranch dip. But as you can see the assembly is super easy. All you have to do is cut your veggies of choice into long, thick, match sticks.

The hummus was a hit as usual. I am a big hummus fan and so are all my boys. They love it when I make this hummus. I’ve never had anyone eat this hummus and not love it, too. Personally I believe it’s because it doesn’t have that bitter tahini paste in it.  If you’ve never had authentic greek hummus sans the tahini, then you are in for a treat.

I served the hummus with veggie sticks and Stacy’s pita chips. If you are feeling up to it, take some flat bread, brush lightly with EVOO, and then stick in a 400* oven for a few minutes until warmed through. Cut into points and dip into the hummus. Awesome.

I saved the best for last because it is the recipe for the day. I got raving reports of how clever and delicious this was, however, I cannot take credit as you will notice the recipe is pretty basic.

Individual Seven-Layer Dips

2 cans refried beans

12 oz. sour cream

1 (1 oz) package taco seasoning (or 1/4 cup)

1 cup guacamole

1 cup salsa of your choice

1 cup shredded cheese (sharp cheddar or Mexican blend)

3 Roma tomatoes, diced

1 small can sliced black olives, drained

sliced green onions

plastic tumblers* (20 -25, depending on how thick you make the layers in each cup)

Tortilla chips or strips

Mix taco seasoning with the sour cream. Layer each cup with approximately 2 T of each ingredient and in this order:

Refried beans, sour cream, guacamole, salsa, cheese, tomatoes, green onions and olives.

You can store these in the refrigerator before ready to serve, however, I would make them as close to serving time as possible. Garnish with tortilla strips just before serving.

Food on Friday: Finger Foods for Parties

4 thoughts on “Party Cups

Leave a Reply

