Balsamic Grilled Chicken

This was really good and easy to make. I normally don’t grill. In fact, this is the first time I actually turned on the grill and cooked chicken all by myself. (Yay, I’m a big girl now.)

Balsamic Grilled Chicken

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1 cup canned coconut milk*

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp fresh ground pepper

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Mix the last 4 ingredients together and marinate the chicken in it for at least a few hours. While the chicken is grilling, combine the following ingredients in a saucepan over medium-high heat.

3/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/2 cup sugar

3 T soy sauce

1 tsp red pepper flakes

Bring this mixture to a boil and cook until reduced and thickened, about 10 minutes. Glaze both sides of the chicken the last few minutes of grilling.

*I couldn’t necessarily taste the coconut influence, although the chicken was very moist and delicious. I would think that a buttermilk marinade would do the trick as well if you don’t have any coconut milk handy. This was a nice, simple grilled meal without a lot of fuss.

6 thoughts on “Balsamic Grilled Chicken

  1. I am always on the look-out for cheese-free recipes (for my fiance) which also taste good (for me) I used to eat this as a kid, but forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

