Simmering Smell-Goods

Who here uses candles to make their home smell good?

Did you know a simple and virtually free of cost way to smell up your kitchen in a lovely aroma is by using orange peels and cinnamon sticks?

You did? Aren’t you clever. I knew we got along for a reason 🙂

This is definitely not a new concept and I take no credit for it at all. BUT I do use this method often (especially in the Fall and Winter) when I have orange peels to spare, which I do most days as I usually eat an orange every day. The only real cost is the cinnamon sticks and you can find those as great prices when they go on sale post-Christmas season. So next time you see cinnamon sticks on sale, stock up!

It’s very simple. Using a corningware dish (I love these because they are stove-top safe) place your orange peels and one or two cinnamon sticks on top of a low burner. Fill with water and allow to simmer all day. When the water starts to get too low just add more. Eventually your ingredients will expire but you can get a nice long day out of one orange and 1 cinnamon stick.

*As you can see, I’ve left a bit of pulp on a few of these peels because the orange was a little old and I wanted to make sure I got a good orange smell in the mix.

You can get similar results by baking the orange peels and cinnamon sticks at a very low heat in the oven 🙂

4 thoughts on “Simmering Smell-Goods

Leave a Reply

