Suetta’s Pimento Cheese

I had family in for the weekend, and I usually do a sort of appetizer layout at one point or another, because let’s face it, nibbles are fun and having guests are the perfect reason for it. I mean, who puts out an appetizer buffet on  a random night, right?

One of the things I included was this awesome pimento cheese. The recipe was given to me by a new friend who I think is a wonderful person and cook 🙂

Now, if you like pimento you will LOVE this recipe. If you are on the fence about pimento then I will say that this recipe will probably give you that final push over. Even if you do not like it so much, give it a try. You might be surprised. I am one of those who has never been very pimento-inclined, but I had to admit that this recipe was awesome. Of course, it helps to love all things cheese, which I do.

Suetta’s Pimento Cheese

1 – 2 cup package sharp cheddar cheese

4 oz. jar pimentos

1/2 cup mayo

1 teaspoon grated onion ( this will be according to your taste)

5 shakes of cayenne pepper, or less than 1/4 tsp.

Combine all the ingredients well. Refrigerate for best results.

*These are Suetta’s directions. I will add this, based on my own experience following the recipe:

1. You do not need to drain the pimentos. I used the whole jar and it came out a bit soupy. However, after sitting a bit it will thicken up, so you can reserve the juice and add as you like, or just add it all from the get-go.

2. 1/2 cup mayo seemed a lot at first, but like I said, the cheese does thicken up over time/refrigeration. Go slowly with the mayo, you may need less than 1/2 cup.

3. Cayenne is to taste, so 5 shakes may be a lot to you. Start with 3 or 4 and go from there.

Enjoy!!

*I apologize for the picture quality. It was late afternoon and the pictures did not come out as fabulous as I had hoped.

2 thoughts on “Suetta’s Pimento Cheese

  1. We LOVE pimento cheese! It’s a fantastic throwback appetizer. Sometimes, maybe once or twice a month – we have what we call a “dip day”. I make a bunch of random appetizers – some hot, some cold dips, some just munchy type things and we set them out for the day and snack. We usually do this in the winter on a Saturday – we watch lots of movies with the kids and snack. It’s really fun!

Leave a Reply

