A Recipe From the Archives ~ Hot Chicken Salad

Sometimes an awesome recipe deserves to be re-posted, and since I am in Chicago this week, an archive repost is just what I needed. Trust me when I say that this dish is totally repost-worthy.

I LOVE this casserole. It is my idea of comfort food at its finest. It is not exactly the lowest in fat or calories but I hope to find some good alternatives that won’t compromise the awesome texture or flavor. I make this several times a year, especially during the holidays, and if I have the time it is my go-to potluck dish.

This is a horrible picture. I took this back in December, before Hubby bought his new, awesome Canon. But I promise you will not be disappointed if you make this! Every time I make this lovely casserole the recipe is requested. Every. Time. I am not exaggerating. Now you may have heard of this dish before, possibly even made it using other recipes, but I strongly urge you to make this recipe at least once and see if you aren’t hooked forever 🙂

Hot Chicken Salad 

6 to 8 cups chopped, cooked chicken (about 4 breasts)

1 cup cooked rice

1  1/2 cups mayo

2 cans cream of chicken soup (or you can use my healthy alternative)

6 oz package of slivered almonds

1 cup sliced celery

2 T. onion flakes

2 cups crushed corn flakes

4 T melted butter

It’s easy to do a quick poach in a large skillet to pre-cook the chicken

Preheat oven to 350*. Lightly grease a 13 X 9 baking dish.

Combine all ingredients except the corn flakes and butter. Mix well to combine and then spread into baking dish.

In another bowl combine 2 cups crushed corn flakes and 4 T. melted butter, and top chicken mixture.

Bake for 45 mins or until heated through. Can cover with foil for first half of baking.

Turkey is a good substitute.

*You can easily prepare this ahead of time and refrigerate overnight. But if you do I strongly recommend allowing the casserole to sit to room temperature or else it will not come out the same AT ALL.

Leave a Reply

