Gluten Free Pizza

I made my first homemade pizza AND it was Gluten free 🙂

Why gluten-free, you ask? No, we’re not gluten intolerant for the most part, but I always feel so much better when I eat less wheat, not to mention if I am going to be eating breads then I just feel better about it knowing that it is gluten-free.

This was so easy. I did use a mix as I am not quite so gluten-free savvy just yet, though I would like to start adding more gluten-free recipes to this blog, and our table, in the near future.

I love my local Big Lots because anytime I go in there I am sure to find a ton of Bob’s Red Mill products.

The directions are simple and it doesn’t take a long time to make the crust. It is very sticky though, so as directed on the package, make sure your hands are very wet when spreading out the dough on the pizza pan. I had to wet my hands several times. I also successfully used a rubber spatula to spread out the dough, wetting it frequently, without having to use my hands at all. Either way works fine.

Bake the crust according to package directions, about 8-10 minutes at 425*. Then add your sauce, cheese and toppings. I used turkey pepperoni, a sauce I mixed together using marinara and tomato paste with salt, basil, and oregano, and low-skim shredded mozzarella; place back in oven for an additional 15 minutes or until cheese melts.

For my first attempt at homemade pizza I have to say it was pretty darn good! I will probably use this gluten-free mix many times, but I did find a few other great crust recipes, both wheat and wheat-free, so keep your eyes peeled for future posts.

Leave a Reply

