Strawberry-Peach Jam

Since our move a few weeks ago we’ve been given lots of fresh veggies and fruit. It is always such a blessing, but figuring out what to do with it all before it goes bad can be challenging. In this case I had peaches and strawberries and no idea what to do with them. So I tried something I’d never done before: make jam.

Now, to be honest it wasn’t intended to be a jam, and it isn’t thick like a jam. But it is wonderfully sweet and tasty and very jam-like. Does that make sense? I know I could have gotten creative and made all sorts of things, like cobblers, crisps, syrups, compotes, etc. {I did make Sangria!} But I was feeling crunched and a bit hungry for something that would go really well in a pastry sort of way.

Strawberry-Peach Jam

7 fresh peaches, skinned and pitted

1 pint strawberries, wash and remove tops

Puree both using blender or other kitchen device

Place in pot, add 1/4 cup organic sugar and bring to a boil. Allow to simmer/low boil until sugars are dissolved. Cool and put into jars.

This made just under 2 pints.

If you have more peaches I would recommend adding them in. The strawberries have a dominating flavor, and while the jam was still very good and I could taste the peaches, I wouldn’t have minded more. I doubt I would have needed to add any additional sugar. The peaches were especially ripe and juicy and sweet.

🙂

Look for my next post today: Strawberry-Peach Pancakes!

Leave a Reply

