The Sangria Experiment

Picture courtesy of BH&G

I have some exciting news! Did you know that Sangria is LOW in calories? Not only is it a perfect summer cocktail, but it boasts the added benefits of fiber and vitamin C.

Heck yeah, pass me a glass!

Here is an awesome recipe via BH&G that offers six kinds of fruit at only 123 calories a glass.

WHITE SANGRIA

1 small honeydew melon, halved, seeded and cut into chunks

1 small pineapple, peeled and cut into chunks

4 medium peaches, cut into thin wedges

1 lemon, thinly sliced

2 – 750 millimeter bottles of dry, white wine, chilled

1/2 cup sugar

2 Tbsp lime juice

1 liter bottled carbonated water, chilled

1 cup loosely packed small fresh mint leaves

Fresh pineapple spears

Directions

In a large punch bowl combine melon, pineapple chunks, peaches, lemon slices, and lime slices. Add wine, sugar, and lime juice. Stir well to dissolve sugar. Cover and chill for at least 2 hours or up to 24 hours. Just before serving, stir in carbonated water and mint leaves. Serve with pineapple spears. Makes 16 servings.

Nutrition Facts 
  • Servings Per Recipe 16,
  • Calories 123,
  • Protein (gm) 1,
  • Carbohydrate (gm) 16,
  • Dietary Fiber, total (gm) 1,
  • Vitamin A (IU) 97,
  • Vitamin C (mg) 21,
  • Sodium (mg) 20,
  • Calcium (DV %) 20,
  • Iron (DV %) 2,
  • Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet

But then I thought, why not make a sangria of my own using what I had on hand? How can this go wrong? Right??

This is what I had to work with: Chardonnay, Merlot and Shiraz. I have been gifted with lots of fresh peaches, I have strawberries, oranges, pears, and blueberries {I did until someone ate them all.} I also just happen to have an ingredient that sounded pretty good….ginger ale. And so the Sangria Experiment began 🙂

By the glass, I put some thinly sliced peaches and their juices into two glasses. Into one glass I added one thinly sliced strawberry. Into the other glass I added some thinly sliced pear (hey, why not?). Into both I put in some very juicy cantaloupe pulp (use it if you got it, I say) and 1 tsp of organic sugar. Chardonnay went into the glass with the strawberries, and Shiraz into the pears. Top both off with some ginger ale, chill for a handful of hours and the taste-test determined……..{drum roll please}…….

AWESOME! I am now convinced that you can mix just about any fruit with wine, allow to infuse for a bit, and it will be awesome. Keep in mind also that the longer you let it chill the better it will be. I ended up letting these two glasses sit in the fridge for about 24 hours. I should also admit that the ginger ale should be added just before serving, which I didn’t do, and yet it still came out very good. I expect it’s a matter of fizziness preference 🙂

The cantaloupe was a bit pulpy, so I drained it and replaced the larger pieces of fruit back in. It did lend a wonderful sweetness and flavor, however. Since it is not 5 o’clock yet (haha- I know, that was funny!) I put the Sangria into two cute little jars for later.

Happy Summer to you and enjoy this refreshing summertime cocktail!

Leave a Reply

