Why No Swine?

It’s true, we don’t eat any pork AT ALL. I don’t judge others for what they eat, in fact I have lots of friends {okay ALL my friends and family} who LOVE bacon. There is this weird bacon craze going on. Have you seen it? Bacon-wrapped chocolate? Bacon Martinis?? For realz.

Don’t get me wrong, I remember what bacon tastes like. Yeah, it’s yummy, I concur, but over the years many a curious person has asked me why I don’t “eat swine”. The first question always asked is, “Are you Jewish?”

No, I’m not Jewish. But yes, there are biblical reasons why I don’t eat pork. It is “unclean”. But that’s not what I tell them. First I ask if they really want to know. It’s kind of like finding out what’s in McDonald’s food and it was your favorite until…

And then you weren’t so glad that you were told, right? Or what’s in that processed “pink” chicken in your kids’ school lunches? Or how many worms most canning companies (and the FDA) allow into each can?

So, if you really, really love pork and don’t want to know, stop here. Or maybe you won’t care. That’s okay, too. So, here are the facts:

The pig is unfit for human consumption. It’s not my opinion, it’s a fact. Pigs are scavenger feeders (bottom feeders), as well as lobsters (I call them Cockroaches Of The Sea because they are anthropods) and crab (all shell fish actually). They help clean the environment but they really weren’t meant to be eaten.

A German professor by the name of Hans-Heinrich Reckeweg, M.D. published an article titled “The Adverse Influence of Pork Consumption on Health” and concluded very simply, “Pork should be regarded as an important homotoxin (human poison).”

The key problem with pork (and high-fat processed luncheon meat, hot dogs, etc) is that these foods digest too quickly in the human digestive system. They are literally too “hot” for the body to handle. They slow down the body’s ability to fight off diseases, including cancer, by impairing the immune system.

Think of it this way, you know how when you grill a hotdog and it gets all crispy and burnt? Most people love to eat hotdogs this way. Do you know what that crispy burnt stuff is? It’s the carcinogens from the nitrates. Imagine that happpening inside of your digestive system. This is very hard on your metabolism. The quick digestion of pork causes a rapid rise in blood urea, and when this occurs, the blood system becomes overloaded, creating excessive stress on the heart and other organs.

Did you know that pepperoni is pork? Just a thought…..

You may love bacon but it is loaded with sodium nitrites- a double whammy. Sodium nitrites form nitrosamines in the stomach- one of the most potent cancer-causing agents known to man.

The biochemical problems of pork consumption is enough for me, but if you still aren’t sure, think about this: cancer-causing chemicals are used to process pork products.

You’ve all heard that commercial for “Pork. The other white meat.” Right? Just because it isn’t processed like sandwich meat or bacon doesn’t mean a pork chop is a healthy meal. In fact, as bottom feeders, pigs have parasites in their bodies. Lots of parasites. And not always little ones, either. Yes, you can cook your pork at high temperatures and kill the parasites, but not always, and even if you do, who wants to eat cooked parasite anyway?

So, that’s it in a nutshell. If you’re interested in learning more, check out Dr. Ted Broer at his website Health Masters. I have several of his books and they have guided me in living healthy and losing lots of fat weight over the years.

2 thoughts on “Why No Swine?

  1. My father was a fisherman, a captain on a trawler, and he never ate shell fish, for the same reason as you and also because they gather more pollutants than other marine. I do though, not often but sometimes. We sometimes go and pick mussels and have a mussel party, cooking outside, drinking white vine and such. Lobsters are so expensive I cannot afford to buy them, so it goes without saying that I never eat them. But I would not mind once in a while.

    My father never ate swine either, I doubt it was for the same reason as you, but I never knew why.
    I do though, but not often, pigs today are mostly fed on corn. Maybe that is no better than other food for a pig, but never mind I sometimes eat them.

    I know we can find a list of food we should not eat in the Bible, pig is one on the list, but I think that list came about because of how the storage methods were at that time, so pork was not suitable for storage in warmer countries. Neither was halibut and other flatfish, they are on the list.
    But the Bible says also “It is not what goes into the mouth that makes a person unclean. It is what comes out of it…” (Matthew 15:11)
    But then I am not a believer so I can eat whatever I please.

    But I try not to eat animals that have been ill treated; I think the quickest way to stop ill treatment of animals is not to buy the product from them. Beside I think animals that are treated well give better meat than the ones that are treated badly. Therefore I do not eat chicken.

    So we all have our ides and needs. And that is just fine and how it should be, everyone according to himself.

    • Corn is a high allergen and not very healthy, espcially for those with gluten and food allergy issues, so the question would still remain for many whether or not corn-fed animal meat would be good for you.

      Pigs are scientifically bad to eat- even though better feeding, care, and storage is available, I have lived in pig farming and processing towns before and am not convinced that it is “better”, especially when you consider the growth hormones that are pumped into most animals.

      As I said, this post was not religious-intended. You don’t have to be a “believer” to agree that some foods are just down right bad for you. But, yes, to each his own.

      Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

