Taco Cornbread Pizza

I found this recipe at 4 Little Fergusons. I have sent you to this blog many times because she always has such wonderful recipe ideas, and this one is no different. Yes, we all know I favor Mexican cuisine, but I figured this would be just a fun, easy mexican-style meal to plug into my menu- and it was. BUT it was also really delicious! I was actually surprised how much I loved it and gobbled up 2 pieces.

Taco Cornbread Pizza

*I slightly adapted the recipe. Here’s what I did.

2 pkg (8 oz each) Corn Muffin Mix (+2 eggs, 2/3 cup milk)

1 lb. ground turkey

1 pkg taco seasoning (or 1/4 cup if using bulk)

3/4 cup water

8 oz. taco sauce

1 1/2 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend

1 1/2 cup shredded lettuce

1 large roma tomato, chopped

Since I don’t have a pizza stone or round pan, I used my cast iron skillet. Mix up the cornbread according to package directions and spread evenly into the skillet. Bake at 400* for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.

Brown and drain your ground meat of choice. Add the water and the taco seasoning, bringing to a light boil. Stir and combine the ingredients well, and simmer until water is absorbed.

Pour the taco sauce over the prepared cornbread, using it as a pizza sauce base. Spread the meat evenly over the top. Sprinkle on the cheese and bake again for an additional 4 to 5 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Remove from oven and allow a few minutes to rest. Cut into wedges and top with shredded lettuce and tomatoes. Serve with additional taco sauce, sour cream, black olives, avocado, or any other taco-topping you like.

On a side note: As I was taking pictures of the pizza outside (best lighting for food pics), Jadon was on the trampoline, as usual, and he said, “Mom, watch this!” I think I hear that a million times a day from him. He’s quite the dare-devil and does these huge flips and scares the heck out of me. He wanted me to take some pictures of him mid-air, so I did 🙂

Do you see this child….waaaaay over there on the edge….in the air? And he’s looking at me to see if I’m taking the picture! This child will be the death of me yet. But he’s brave and used to bumps, bruises, and broken bones (and consequently so are we). He’s Superman 🙂

One thought on “Taco Cornbread Pizza

Leave a Reply

