May Menu – 2012

WOW! May is a long month! 5 solid weeks of recipes is somehow way more intimidating than 4. I sit down to work out a month-long menu and my mind goes blank. I sift through magazine pages, foodie blogs, Pinterest, and emails from Kraft, BH&G, Southern Living- any of them that put out recipes, I’m on their mailing list. It’s a lot to go through. And then finally- a menu is born. I’ve got a whole lot of new things on here this month, so recipe links will be added periodically.

A realization came to me that has actually made planning A LOT easier. I tend to repeat my dinner theme on a regular basis. Once I realized this and decided to plan according to the themes, the menu came together quite easily. So with that in mind, the meals follow a simple pattern:

Monday: Meatless Meals

Tuesday: Chicken (or other poultry)

Wednesday: Mexican

Thursday: Fish/Seafood and Dessert Night

Friday: Pizza

Saturday: Pasta

Sunday: Traditional Meals or Brunch-Inspired

Week 1 ~ May 1st – 6th

Chicken & Rice Pilaf with roasted asparagus

Taco Cornbread Pizza and salad

Tilapia (recipe to be decided) with veggies and rice

Tiramisu

*Pizza

Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Turkey Meatballs in Marinara with garlic toast

Brunch Cake

*I don’t make my own pizza. I started “Pizza Night” months and months ago to give myself a break. I buy frozen pizza and add turkey pepperoni for the boys. They love it and really dislike it when Friday comes around and I don’t make pizza. For me, I will sometimes add olives, spinach, chicken, and tomatoes.

Week 2 ~ May 7th – 13th

Eggplant Parmesan Rollatini

Baba’s Chicken and Cream, mashed potatoes, green beans and biscuits

Chicken Fajitas, rice & beans

Fish Cakes with Cheesy Rice Fritters and salad

Truffle Fudge

Pizza Night

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo with penne

Traditional Pot Roast {crock pot}, Sweet Potato Cornbread, and roasted brussels sprouts

Week 3 ~ May 14th – 20th

Cheesy Polenta and Veggies

BBQ Pulled Chicken {crock pot} Sandwiches and Corn on the cob

Easy Mexican Casserole

Dijon Dill Salmon, long grain and wild rice, broccoli

Pumpkin Cupcakes with Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

Pizza Night

Pasta with Pesto and Green Beans

Skillet Breakfast Pizza

Week 4 ~ May 21st – 27th

Cheesy Beans and Rice with garlic toast and salad

Balsamic Grilled Chicken, Skillet Corn, salad

Beef Enchiladas with rice, Bean Mash, and salad

Pecan Crusted Tilapia with Rum Sauce

Heavenly Filled Strawberries

Pizza Night

Skillet Macaroni and Cheese, veggies

Traditional Roast Chicken with Carrot Mash Bake, fresh green peas, and biscuits

Week 5 ~ May 27th – 31st

Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato Soup (Trader Joe’s) and Grilled Cheese sandwiches on Whole Wheat.

Chicken and Corn Chowder, salad, whole wheat dinner rolls

Ground turkey Tacos with all the fixins

Fish Newburg with green beans and Creamy Risotto

Brown Sugar Cake

EXTRAS ~ Breakfasts and Treats ~

Hunter-Style Muffins

Cinnamon Muffins (never got to them last month)

Cheesy Egg in a Bowl

Eclair Dessert

Eggs and Grits Bowls (I make this for the boys at least once a week)

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

Leave a Reply

