Coconut Cream Tart

In lieu of my birthday I decided to choose a dessert this week just for me 😉 The boys did like it very much, however, and if you like coconut, you will too. I’m not much of a custard person, but this was really good, and I could see lots of potential using this recipe as a base for a basic custard.

Coconut Cream Tart

3/4 cup sugar

1/3 cup flour (I used unbleached all-purpose for this. no wheat)

4 large eggs

2 cups milk

1 Tbsp. vanilla

1/2 cup shredded coconut + more for sprinkling

1 pkg. frozen tart shells or *premade pie crust cut into circles

Whisk together the sugar, flour, eggs, and milk in a heavy saucepan . Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, 6-10 minutes, or until a chilled pudding-like thickness. Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla nd coconut.

Cover and chill 6 hours (or more). Bake tart shells according to package directions. Cool completely. Spoon custard into shells. Dollop with whipped cream and sprinkle with additional coconut flakes.

*I used the kind of premade crust that Pillsbury sells in long rolls that need to be spread out a bit with a rolling-pin. Also, I don’t have a tart pan so I used a muffin tin. Gently place circles into the tins, press sides down and prick several times with a fork. Bake for 7 or 8 minutes (or until browned) at 400*.

This dessert came together very quick (cooling time aside) and easily, and it looks and tastes like A LOT more work went into it. Super good!

 Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

4 thoughts on “Coconut Cream Tart

Leave a Reply

