Chicken Tortilla Casserole

My insatiable appetite for anything Mexican-flavored cannot be quenched. Hence, this newest addition to my list. I loved this casserole. It was flavorful but it was also comforting. You know what I mean? Just add it to the list along with your chicken noodle soup and meatloaf. This casserole is sure to become one of your go-to favorites as well.

I found this “healthified” recipe at eatbetteramerica.com where I have found many other wonderful, healthy recipes and options. I did adapt this recipe quite a bit, so you’re welcome to check out theirs as well. Here’s what I did:

*Since hubby is out if town I only made 1/2 a casserole. It was enough for me and the boys with enough leftover for my lunch the next day. No waste probably excites me more than organizing. Weird. I know.

Chicken Tortilla Casserole

**Cream Soup Mix

2 large chicken breast, cooked and shredded

4 oz. sour cream

1 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 green bell pepper, coarsely chopped

3 Roma tomatoes, chopped

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

4 corn tortillas (6 inch) torn into bite-sized pieces

1. Heat oven to 350*. Spray 4×7 or 1 1/2 qt. baking dish with cooking spray.

2. In a small saucepan mix up cream soup mix by adding 1 1/4 cup water to 1/3 dry cream soup mix. Whisk and bring to soft boil for 2 minutes. Stir to avoid scalding. Once thickened, remove from heat.

3. In a large bowl, mix soup, sour cream, chicken, pepper and tomatoes, 1/2 the cheddar, Parmesan, chili powder, cumin, and tortillas. Spread out in baking dish.

4. Cover dish with foil and bake for 25-30 minutes. Uncover; sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake uncovered for another 5 minutes or just until melted and casserole is bubbly. Let sit for 5 minutes.

**The dry mixture is more than you need for this recipe but it is good to have extra on hand. Dry mixture will measure close to 2 1/2 cups and only 1/3 cup will be needed for any recipe that calls for a regular 10 oz. can of condensed cream soup.

I used what ingredients I had on hand, but I would definitely like to try this with green chiles. We ate this with a green salad. It was super yummy!

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

