Chocolate-Strawberry Shortcake Whoopie Pies

Whoopie Pies are the new cupcake! Have you heard? There has been a whoopie pie craze going on for some time now. At first I thought it was random, seeing a whoopie pie recipe here and there, but it’s apparent I was wrong and whoopie pies are making a come back. HUGE!

I’ll be honest, this isn’t my sort of thing. For one, this recipe uses marshmallow fluff (gah!). I don’t know how you can make a whoopie pie without it- but I will be on the lookout for that recipe.

The other reason is, other than the standard loaf, cookies, or cake, I suck when it comes to getting creative in the baking department. These turned out pretty good in spite of myself. I think I’d invest in a whoopie pie baking pan- if there is such a thing.

Whoopie Pies

1 pkg chocolate cake mix

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup oil

3 eggs

1 pkg (8 oz) cream cheese, softened

1 jar (7 oz) marshmallow creme

1 pint whipping cream, whipped

3 cups fresh strawberries, sliced

HEAT oven to 350*

BEAT first 4 ingredients with mixer until well blended. Drop 2 Tbsp. batter, 2 inches apart, into 32 mounds on baking sheets sprayed with cooking spray. Bake 10 minutes or until toothpick comes out of center almost clean. Cool on baking sheets 3 minutes. Remove to wire racks; cook completely.

MIX cream cheese and fluff together until well blended then add to whipped cream. Spread about 1 Tbsp. on one side of each cookies, add slices strawberries and sandwich together gently.

Makes 16 servings 🙂

Thursdays Treasures, Full Plate Thursday, Weekend Potluck, Foodie Friday, TGIF,

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

3 thoughts on “Chocolate-Strawberry Shortcake Whoopie Pies

Leave a Reply

