Luscious Tropical Dream Cake

Welcome back to Fantabulous Friday where a fabulous dessert is featured each week. 

This week the recipe came via (and adapted from) the Kraft Food & Family magazine. The original recipe is here but I will post it the way I made it.

Luscious Tropical Dream Cake

1 (20 oz) can crushed pineapple, reserve juice

1 pkg. (2 layer size) yellow cake mix (I used a butter cake mix)

1 pkg. (3.4 oz) Jello instant Pudding, Lemon flavor

1 1/2 cups cold milk

1/4 flaked coconut

1. Heat oven to 350*

2. Drain pineapple and reserve juice. Prepare cake batter as directed on box and replace the water with the pineapple juice (should be about 1 cup juice). Add extra water if called for. Pour into greased 15x10x1 -inch pan.

3. Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool completely.

4. Beat pudding mix and milk with a whisk 2 minutes. Stir in pineapple. Spread over cake; sprinkle with shredded coconut (can add chopped pecans if desired. I so desired, but apparently didn’t have any pecans even though I know I bought some!)

5. Keep refrigerated.

This was a very moist, light, and yummy cake that was easy to make, and a perfect dessert on a late winter’s evening with the promise of spring just around the corner.

Enjoy! 

Visit Top Mommy Blogs To Vote For Me!

One thought on “Luscious Tropical Dream Cake

  1. M-M-M-M-M!!!! This is my kind of cake. I haven’t ever liked just ‘plain cake and frosting’ but dress a box mix up like this and I can’t stop eating it. Thanks for sharing – and thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving your sweet comment. Please come again soon – you have a great blog here…I’ll be back too. I adore! the red heart-shaped coffee mug and saucer. My kitchen is red, white & blue…that would look perfect in MY kitchen. =)

Leave a Reply

