Cookie Balls and Cake Pops

The day has arrived! Isn’t it funny how we look forward to something no matter how big or small? Valentine’s Day certainly doesn’t compare to the anticipation of Christmas or a Sweet 16 or even summer vacation, but it certainly deserves its place in our hearts (haha- I punned). It’s a reminder to tell the people we love that, well….we love them.

I never miss an opportunity to celebrate my family. As a child, I remember Valentine Days when my mother would put together a little surprise for us kids to find at breakfast. It wasn’t every year and it wasn’t much, maybe a little heart-shaped box with some goodies inside it and a card, but it was something fun and memorable. So with that in mind I usually put together cute little gift baskets for the kids with just a few yummy and silly things.

The boys both received heart-shaped baskets with a card, a cookie on a stick, a small box of chocolates, some silly string and silly putty 🙂 and a sucker that has big puckered lips on it.

I also made up a gift bag for Cory with cards from me and the boys, a very soft long-sleeved T-shirt from Life is Good and these yummy chocolate and sprinkle-covered graham crackers. (I admit, I bought those, but what a sinch it probably would have been to make! *Reminder for next year.)

The boys gave me a huge, beautiful card and a heart-shaped box of candy.

~*~*Feeling the love~*~*

SO because today is Valentine’s Day and because of all the incredible recipes I’ve seen via blogs going around the past few weeks, I decided I would try to make a few treats for my boys that were not featured in my V-Day Recipe Round Up yesterday (because we know I made all of those- right?) Well, I really would have liked to been able to at least have a taste of each of them, that’s for sure.

I started with these: Red Velvet Balls- but I renamed mine as Velvety Cookie Balls, because the red dye was the only thing making it a “Red Velvet” and I don’t encourage adding red dye for nothing (funny, since there’s never a vital reason for it anyway.) Since it had nothing to do with the taste, I left it out.

I will give you the original recipe here:

Red Velvet Cookie Balls

 1 pkg. (8 oz) Cream Cheese, softened

34 Golden Chocolate Creme Oreo cookies, finely crushed (about 3 cups)

1/2 tsp. red food coloring

2 pkg. (8 squares each) Baker’s Semi-Sweet Chocolate, melted

2 Tbsp. red sprinkles

*Mix cream cheese, cookie crumbs and food coloring until well blended. Shape into 48 (1-inch) balls. Dip in melted chocolate; place on waxed paper-covered baking sheet. Top with sprinkles. Refrigerate 1 hour or until firm.

Here is my lazy version of the chocolate covered cookie ball. I’ve realized that I am not so good with the whole melting chocolate and covering something nicely. I am too messy and impatient for all that! Seriously, I try, but chocolate just gets everywhere. You can see it when I make my Peanut Butter Balls every Christmas.

I also made Cookie Pops 🙂

Chocolate Cookie Lollipops

 

 4 squares Baker’s Unsweetened Chocolate

3/4 cup butter

2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups flour

4 squares Baker’s White Chocolate

Red or Valentine Sprinkles

*Heat oven to 350*F. Microwave unsweetened chocolate and butter in large bowl on high for 2 minutes or until butter is melted. Stir until chocolate is completely melted and mixture is well blended. Add sugar; mix well. Blend in eggs and vanilla. Add flour; mix well. Refrigerate 1 hour or until dough is stiff.

Shape dough into 30 (2-inch) balls; insert lollipop stick into each ball. Place 2 inches apart on baking sheets sprayed with cooking spray. Bake 8 minutes or just until firm (do not overbake). Let stand on baking sheets 1 min.; transfer to wire racks. Cool completely.

Melt white chocolate as directed on package; drizzle over lollipops. Decorate with sprinkles. Let stand until chocolate is firm.

~Yeah, I didn’t have any red sprinkles, Valentines or otherwise, nor could I find any white chocolate in any of the grocery stores on the island. Also, I used semi-sweet chocolate instead of unsweetened because that’s what I had. Overall they came out pretty much the same and my boys don’t care either way because they love chocolate 😉

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

