Lemon-Chicken Piccata

This was so easy and really, really good. I’ve never been much of a lemon chicken kind of girl. I don’t know why- I like both.  I actually had this recipe written in the sidelines of my menu calendar for the past two months, just waiting to be used. I’m glad I did.

Easy Peasy Lemon-Chicken Piccata

What you need:

1 large lemon

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

1/4 cup mayo

22 Ritz crackers, finely crushed (about 1 cup)

2 Tbsp. olive oil

2 tsp. chopped fresh parsley (or my standby: dried)

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 Tbsp. butter

Cut  4 thin lemon slices from lemon; squeeze juice from the rest of the lemon. Coat chicken with mayo, then the cracker crumbs.

Heat oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook 5 minutes, turn, cook 5 more minutes or until chicken is golden brown on both sides and done (165*F). Transfer chicken to platter; sprinkle with parsley. Cover to keep warm. Carefully wipe any crumbs from skillet with paper towel.

Add lemon juice and broth to skillet; cook on medium-high heat 6 to 8 minutes or until slightly reduced, stirring occasionally. Add butter and lemon slices; cook and stir on low heat 3 to 4 minutes or until butter is melted and lemons are heated through.

Serve over chicken with hot cooked whole wheat thin spaghetti or angel hair pasta.

Prep: 10 mins; Total: 33 mins; Makes: 4 servings.

Super easy, super good!

My sauce came out a teensy-weensy too lemon-y. It could have used more butter or something to diffuse the strong lemon flavor. Luckily my boys all liked it anyway (except for Jadon- he shuddered whenever he got too much lemon in a bite- kinda funny). So I do recommend tasting the sauce before spooning it over the plates, just to be sure 🙂

Enjoy!

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Chicken Piccata

  1. I missed this dish for many years. It tasted superb when I was first introduced this dish. Later, it was no longer available. Now that I do not know where I can have some good ones, I have totally forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder. Regards. !!!

Leave a Reply

