Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza

There are times when you just really want a fresh from the oven, warm, gooey chocolate chip cookie. Am I right? Of course I am.

This cookie pizza is AWESOME!

Not only does it give you that fresh from the oven, warm, and gooey experience, but it gives it to you FASTER! How about them apples?

Plus it’s got oats in it that are nearly undetectable by taste (though I am an oatmeal cookie kind of girl) yet gives that cookie a bit of a fiber boost. Did you know all the health benefits of oatmeal? It’ll boost your immune system, lowers cholesterol and the risk of diabetes, stabilizes blood sugar, has heart protecting antioxidants, a breast cancer preventative, and is gluten friendly.

AND the oats help keep the middle chewy while the edges are crispy. Bonus!

From the January 2010 issue of Good Housekeeping, I give you:

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza 

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

6 Tbsp. butter

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1 cup old-fashioned oats

3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1. Preheat oven to 375*. Line large cookie sheet with parchment paper. Using flour sifter or waxed paper, mix flour, baking soda, and salt until well blended.

2. In saucepan melt butter on low heat. Remove from heat and whisk in both sugars until blended. Whisk in egg and vanilla. Use wooden spoon to stir into flour mixture, then add oats, chocolate chips, and nuts until combined.

3. Spoon batter into center of prepared cookie sheet. With spatula, spread batter to an even 8-inch round. Bake 18 minutes, or until cookie is golden brown. Let cool on cookie sheet on wire rack 15 minutes. Transfer to cutting board lined with waxed paper; cut cookie into 12 wedges and serve warm.

I love magazine cooking instructions: Transfer to cutting board lined with waxed paper… 

So here’s what I did: I didn’t have any nuts, which will be fine with the kiddos since I’m the only one who likes them anyway. I also used milk chocolate chips. My oven cooks hotter than any other oven on the planet- seriously- so I only baked this for 12 minutes or so. After I let the pan sit on a cooling rack for maybe 10 minutes I then transferred the cookie to a cutting board sans waxed paper and promptly cut into it so that Jadon and I could eat it!

Ok, we only had one small wedge each and saved the rest for the others so they could have some, too.

I also want to say that using a spatula to spread the batter into an even 8-inch round was not as easy as Good Housekeeping says it is, therefore I placed a second sheet of parchment paper on top of the batter and pressed it into an even-thickness round-like shape (it came out more oval). The top piece of parchment came off without trouble and my “round” was quite nice.

So why is this FASTER?? Because it literally (yes, I know what literally means) only takes about 10 minutes to whip this batter up. While you’re doing that the oven can be preheating, and then BAM! it’s in the oven. None of that spooning individual cookie drops onto the sheet which seems to take FOREVER when you want a cookie now! Total time is less than 30 minutes plus cooling!

How about a little nutritional information?

240 calories per serving, 4 g. protein, 29 g. carbohydrate, 14 g. total fat (6 g. saturated) 2 g. fiber, 34 mg. cholesterol, 145 mg. sodium.

And if you’re like me and already have these ingredients in the house (seriously, who doesn’t?) then this cookie pizza is FREE! Woot-woot!

What can I say, chocolate makes me happy 😉

 Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

One thought on “Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookie Pizza

Leave a Reply

