Caramel Frosting

Awhile back I baked a cake for Cory’s 4oth birthday and posted my efforts in Yellow Butter Cake and Homemade Maple Frosting. It was yummy but it was not perfect. In fact, as usual the icing was thin and runny.

I also mentioned that our love for maple came from my childhood love of maple iced Long Johns, which are bar shaped donuts that sometimes are filled with cream or custard. Similar to an eclair. But my favorite ones were just like a donut, no filling, and had maple icing. These brought back great memories of my childhood and walking down to the milkhouse with my grandpa to exchange the empty glass milk bottles (the ones with the cardboard stopper, remember those?) for new ones, and we’d grab some Long  Johns to bring back to the house and share with my grandma and sister.

Generally being anti-donut in my adulthood, I only occasionally indulged in them and almost always opt for the maple iced ones. When I realized Dunkin’ Donuts had maple donuts I was in heaven. This was something new to my hubby, who now has a perfect appreciation for the maple iced donut as well.

This is also where our love of caramel cake comes in. I also mentioned in the Homemade Maple Frosting post that our friend Beth was the one who turned us on to caramel cake. She’s an incredible baker who once shared an awesome recipe for pear cake that I will some day share with you. I never could make a cake quite as good as her. Cory continues to ask for caramel and maple iced cakes and very good-naturedly eats them up even though they are not near as perfect as Beth’s.

It’s been 5 years since I’ve seen Beth and low and behold I got to see her last week. She handed over nearly a whole homemade three-layer butter cake with luscious homemade caramel frosting. Cory and I and the boys were ecstatic. And then I asked her to please give me some tips on the art of homemade frosting. The following is her very own recipe in all its perfection. Since we’ve been full on cakes and sweets lately I really don’t have a need to make this just yet, but still looking for an excuse 😉

The Best Caramel Frosting Ever

1 small can Evaporated Milk

1 stick butter or margarine

1 cup tightly packed brown sugar (slightly more than 1 cup)

Combine in sauce pan and boil for 15 minutes, stirring. Careful not to burn. Cook the sugar down, carmelizing the ingredients.

Take the mixture and pour into metal bowl. Use mix-master or hand mixer and start adding in vanilla (she didn’t give me an amount. Most of you bakers probably have an idea of how much to use. If you’re like me, you can’t ever have too much vanilla anyway!)

Add 1 box powdered sugar

Add maybe a 1/2 tsp water. Go slowly with the water. It only takes a minuscule amount and it’s much easier to add than to remove water. You might use up to 1 tsp. water.

Continue to beat while adding these ingredients until the frosting is fluffy and perfect 😉

*~*~SLURP!~*~*

Don’t miss todays main recipe post for Turkey Salisbury Steaks with White Bean Mash. Oh yeah 😉 

Just Click To Send A Vote For Us @ Top Mommy Blogs

4 thoughts on “Caramel Frosting

    • Great! Thanks so much (I’m so excited to learn I made Google! haha) Thanks for stopping by and I will do my best to post more stuff you’d be interested in. If you have any suggestions, please don’t hesitate.

Leave a Reply

