What to do with all this kale??

I have never cooked with kale before last week when I got a HUGE amount of it in my first Veggie Box.  Since then I’ve had to search out some recipes that helped me prepare kale and other leafy greens in new and tasty ways.

I made:

Kale Crisps

Preheat oven to 350*. Wash and dry kale. Strip leaves from stem and tear into small pieces. Arrange on baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil and sea salt. Toss to coat and spread out. Bake for 10 minutes or until browned and crispy.

Spring Greens Risotto

3 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup chopped green onions

1 1/2 cup Arborio rice

1/2 tsp salt

4 cup hot vegetable or chicken broth, divided

4 cup coarsely chopped spring greens (kale, collards, chard, spinach, bok choy, tat soi, etc.- any combo will do. Use what you have or what you like)

1/4 tsp grated nutmeg (optional)

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1. Heat oil in heavy pot over medium heat. Add onions; cook 3 minutes. Add rice and salt. Cook and stir until the rice begins to color.

2. Add 1/2 cup broth; cook and stir until most of the broth is absorbed. Add 1 1/2 cup broth; simmer, stirring occasionally, until mostly absorbed, about 10 minutes. Add remaining broth. Simmer 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Place greens on top of rice. Cover and simmer 3 minutes. Stir in greens. Simmer and stir a few minutes more until broth is absorbed and rice is tender but moist.

4. Remove from heat. Stir in Parmesan and serve.

* I served this alongside black beans the night I made Steak Quesadillas. The following night I made a healthy version of Chicken Cordon Bleu and served the leftover rice mixed with the leftover beans, and added extra kale steeped in chicken broth, some chopped tomatoes and dried cilantro. Yum!

Chard Bake

Fill an 8×8 inch oiled pan with chopped greens. Chard, spinach and other thin greens work best. The greens cook way down so fill the pan up. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Top with slightly overlapping slices of tomatoes. Top that with bits or slices of goat cheese. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

* I used mostly collards, mixed with some kale and baby bok choy. I also didn’t have any goat cheese in the house so I used what feta cheese I had.

Egg Casserole

Sorry, no picture 😦 Unfortunately it didn’t come out pretty because I was using my new convection oven and one of those Glad plastic bakeware pans. Now, I’ve never had any trouble with those pans before – I bake with them, throw them in the freezer, bake them again, no problem- BUT just as a little FYI…if they get too close to the heat bars they will melt.  The casserole was fine, but the pan was a mess! 😉

1 doz eggs, whisked with 1/4 cup milk

salt & pepper to taste

1 cup shredded potatoes

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

diced tomatoes, however much you like

1/2 cup small kale pieces

1/2 cup shredded cheese (mozzarella or cheddar)

1. Preheat oven to 350*

2. Place shredded potatoes on the bottom of a greased 8×8 square pan. Layer on tomatoes, cheese and kale. Pour beaten eggs over all and bake for at least 30 minutes, or until eggs are set.

3. Sprinkle shredded cheese over top and place back in oven until melted.

I still have some kale left and plenty of collards. It’s a good thing I am only getting veggie boxes every other week! Stay tuned for recipes for rutabagas and butternut squash!

What do you do with kale or other leafy green vegetables?

Vote for me @ Top Mommy Blogs - Mom Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

