Kohlrobi & Apple Slaw

Go back and see what I did with all those Leafy Greens 🙂

I had never heard of kohlrobi (misspelled in previous posts) before the other day when I received two, one white and one purple, in my veggie box.  I Googled this vegetable to see what I could find out about it and found that it is a German turnip that can be eaten raw or cooked.

The kohlrobi is the whitish bulb on the right.

 In my search for a good recipe I came across this slaw. After I peeled and cut the kohlrobi I decided to taste it to see what I was working with. Being a cabbage lover already this kohlrobi was definitely going to work for me. I love raw cabbage. While I do occasionally like it cooked, I prefer to eat it raw. And not in slaws either, but shredded and mixed with lettuce in a salad, or just in wedges all by itself. Am I weird?

Kohlrobi tastes a lot like cabbage heart. Not the leaf and not the core, but that edible heart part. I don’t know what it would be called. In fact, kohlrobi is even better because it is slightly sweet and doesn’t have that bite that cabbage sometimes does.

Not very colorful, but definitely tasty. The recipe also called for fresh mint of which I had none.

How to make the slaw:

Peeled and julienned kohlrobi

1 medium apple, washed and julienned (I left the skin on for color & nutrients)

In a separate bowl combine 1/4 cup cream, 1 Tbsp lemon juice, 1/2 Tbsp good mustard, 1/2 Tbsp sugar, salt & pepper to taste. Mix up into pillows and fold into slaw.

I love my Pampered Chef slicer- it juliennes great!

 
Of course I deviated from the recipe. I used half & half because I did not have any cream on hand. Because of this, the slaw dressing does not get fluffy, but the taste is still good. For the mustard I used honey mustard, and I did not add any salt & pepper. I thought it turned out very tasty and plan to serve it with dinner tonight.

Anyone have any great kohlrobi recipes?

3 thoughts on “Kohlrobi & Apple Slaw

Leave a Reply

