Veggie Box!

Don’t miss my first post today: BBQ Salmon ~ Yum!

VEGGIE BOXES!

Yesterday I received my first veggie box from a farmer’s co-op. I was so excited to see all the great, fresh veggies. I love this idea for so many reasons:

1. It’s less expensive than buying veggies at the grocery store, not to mention the same old stuff over and over again.

2. It’s delivered to me, or near by so all I have to do is drive a short distance. (a HUGE plus for living on an island.)

3. The veggies are way healthier than what is available is the grocery store.

4. It forces me to explore new things and new recipes.

Pretty, isn’t it? Last week my friend, Jenn, got her first box and posted the picture on Facebook. She got butternut squash and apples in addition to the greens and root vegetables. I admit, I was a bit disappointed not to see those in my box, but there’s always next time 🙂

So yesterday I unload the contents of my box, took some pictures, and then said to myself, “What is this stuff?!” So I posted on Facebook the “Name those veggies!” It worked. Thank the Lord, too, otherwise I don’t know what I would have done with half these veggies. Needless to say, I spent a considerable amount of time Googling veggies and looking for recipes.

Rutabagas in front, a broccoli hybrid in back, and kolrobi on the right.

 

Turnips and Beets

 

Baby Bok Choy and Tatsoi Spinach

 
Found out this was Red Russian Kale
 
I don’t know about you but I am not familiar with many of these veggies. Some I know by name but have never cooked with them, and others I had never heard of at all. Since I requested no beets (and got them anyway) I did give those away. My friend Carrie like both beet greens and turnips, so I cut the stalks off the beets and gave her those and most of the turnips (I saved 2 for myself  just to “give it a try”. Besides, I’m pretty sure I’ll get more in the next box.) I gave the actual beets to my neighbors, who in turn gave me a dozen fresh eggs from their chickens. Not a bad trade-off. Though they would have gotten the beets regardless 🙂
 
In my quest for recipes (I have A LOT of kale and collards and other greens), I found a few that seemed interesting enough to try, and better than the same old boring thing. For the kale I have two recipes: kale chips and a risotto. For the kolrobi I found a recipe for apple and kolrobi slaw. In the ned I will probably take all the remaining greens and bok choy and cook it all up collards-style. Cory loves rutabagas but never gets them as I don’t like them, have no idea how to prepare them, and generally am not inspired to try. He will be glad to see some in the box and so I found a recipe for glazed rutabagas. We shall see. And I will keep you all posted on my adventures with the veggie boxes!
 
I pay $40 every other week for a box of 8-12 lbs. of fresh, local, and organic veggies. With the exception of what it will cost to supplement tomatoes and any other veggie I require from the grocery store, this will be figured into my budget. I think it’s a very smart move where budgeting is concerned.
 
Do any of you frequently visit Farmer’s Markets or are a part of a co-op?
2 thoughts on “Veggie Box!

  1. I love leafy greens and here’s a simple dish that I love:

    Chard Bake

    Fill an 8×8 inch oiled pan with chopped greens. Chard, spinach and other thin greens work best. The greens cook way down so fill the pan up. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Top with slightly overlapping slices of tomatoes. Top that with bits or slices of goat cheese. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes.

Leave a Reply

