BBQ Salmon

For years we’ve been pan searing our salmon with BBQ sauce. It is very yummy and quick, and has been my go-to meal over and over again. I love this meal because we are getting all the great benefits of fish, plus awesome flavor that ensures a clean plate. All I have to do is take 4 salmon fillets out of the freezer in time for them to thaw (I buy individually wrapped salmon fillets from Sam’s Club. It’s truly the best deal I’ve found anywhere on the East coast.) If I’ve forgotten to take them out then I will put them in some luke-warm water and they will defrost in no time.

This time I wanted to make something different so I found a Rachael Ray recipe called Brown-Sugar-Mustard-Glazed Salmon. It was so similar that it made me think of our favorite BBQ, which I might as well have made. I will give you both recipes.

Brown-Sugar-Mustard-Glazed Salmon

1/3 cup brown sugar

2 1/2 Tbsp Dijon mustard

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Salt & Pepper

Four 7-ounce salmon fillets

2 tsp olive oil

1. Preheat the oven to 400*. In a small bowl, whisk together the brown sugar, mustard, lemon juice and 1/2 tsp pepper.

2. Heat a large, ovenproof skillet over high heat. Rub the salmon with the oil, season with salt & pepper and place skin side up in the skillet. Cook until a crisp brown crust forms, about 3 minutes. Remove from heat, flip the salmon and coat with the brown sugar mixture. Transfer the skillet to the oven and bake until the glaze caramelizes and the fish is cooked through, about 5 minutes.

What I did: I do have a cast-iron skillet but Cory won’t let me cook fish in it 🙂 and it’s the only oven proof pan I’ve got. Also, I don’t buy salmon with skin on it (usually). Therefore, I followed the directions as best I could by searing the one side in a large pan and then transferring the fish to a baking pan. Overall it was very good, but the BBQ would have given me a much better crusting.

BBQ Salmon:

4 salmon fillets

One -18 ounce bottle BBQ sauce

1. In a large skillet, pour 1/3 BBQ sauce and heat pan to medium-high heat. Add salmon fillets and pour remaining sauce over top. Allow sauce to bubble and thicken as the salmon cooks. Turn salmon and redistribute sauce so that it continues to glaze all over. Add a little water if sauce is too thick or starting to burn. Take care not to over cook the fish.

Sometimes I manage a nice crusty glaze, other times it’s just moist and saucy. It doesn’t always come out exactly the same every time. I usually serve this with a wild rice mix and some kind of green veggie.

Clean up tip: Scrape all the remaining sauce out of the pan (you can use it over the fish or on the rice, etc. if you like), then immediately add water to hot pan and allow it to deglaze while you’re eating.

Look for post #2: Veggie Box!

Leave a Reply

