Cinnamon Apple Tart

If you missed my first post today, click to see my recipe for Bacon and Egg Puffs.

Did someone say Cinnamon Apple Tart?! Why yes, yes, I did 🙂

This was so good and a great way to use up older apples that have lost their “freshness”. I found this recipe on the Southern Living Taste of Home website.

INGREDIENTS:

1 large apple, peeled and chopped

1 tsp lemon juice

1 sheet refrigerated pie pastry

2 Tbsp apple jelly

2 Tbsp sugar

1/4 cup cinnamon baking chips

1/3 cup sliced almonds

1 tsp milk

FOR ICING:

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 to 2 tbsp milk

DIRECTIONS:

In a small bowl, toss chopped apple with lemon juice; set aside. On a lightly floured surface, roll pastry into a 14 -nch circle. Transfer to a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Spread jelly to within 2 inches of edges. Sprinkle with apple mixture, sugar, baking chips and almonds. Fold edges of pastry over filling, leaving center uncovered. Brush folded pastry with milk.

Bake at 400* for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Wsu parchment paper to slide tart onto rack to cool. In a small bowl, combine ingredients for icing, adding enough milk to acheive desired consistency. Drizzle over tart. Yeild: 6 servings.

I got a little too happy with the icing 🙂

I know you are all wondering how I changed this recipe…. I didn’t have any apple jelly for one, but I did have apple butter. Also, I am not even sure what cinnamon chips are?? So I used ground cinnamon instead, about 1 Tbsp. Also I used 2 medium apples instead of one. The rest was the same. Other suggestions would be to use strawberry jam and walnuts instead of the apple jelly/butter and almonds, and to skip the icing.

Leave a Reply

