Musco

I pronounce it “musco” but really it is “must go”. Often times my kids will ask me what’s for dinner and I will reply, “Musco.” They know that means leftovers, because it must go.

I don’t mind leftovers. In fact I like them to a point because it means I will have a no-fuss lunch or dinner. In the case of today’s musco it was the remainders of my ratatouille.

I have to admit, I am glad to see the end of this ratatouille. It was a big pan to eat all by myself with Cory not here to enjoy it with me. I ate the rest of my bulgur, giving me one fabulous initial dinner and two lunches. I am glad that the bulgur is gone because I don’t know that I could have eaten that same meal again, and there was still half a row of ratattouille left.

I love coming up with new and innovative ways to serve leftovers. We should not have to suffer repeats of the same meal lest we get tired of certain foods. I am one of those people with the affliction of not always being in agreement with my brain, meaning I can be eating something very yummy, but in an instant I can feel as though one more bite will actually make me barf. I have no idea where it comes from, certainly not my taste buds, and so I have to put it down or toss it out for the chickens (my neighbor has a bazillion chickens that roam free, consequently I feed them a lot of scraps and leftovers) whether I am still hungry or not.

The statement I made regarding repeated meals actually made me think something amusing, though completely irrelevant to this blog. Yes, yes, I know, me and my tangents. But bear with me. I bought a cookbook years ago called Carpools to Candlelight.  I am a sucker for a good cookbook and this one was no different. In fact, it is where I first came across the fabulous Carrot Mash Bake, though in the cookbook it goes by a different name. What I wanted to share was a small introduction the author wrote in the beginning of the book.

“When I was a child, my mother had the habit of fixing the same thing for dinner every night, for months and months at a time. I promise I’m not exaggerating.

During one phase, we had pecan waffles every night for seven months. We had the potato variety of “Hamburger Helper” every night for most of my sophomore year in high school!

I never realized this was odd until I was old enough to spend more than one night with a friend. Even then, I thought perhaps I was happening to visit during the two evenings when they were making the transition from one phase to the next.

I’ve never heard of another person who cooked this way!”

My question is this: Who does cook this way?? If any of you out there have heard (or experienced) this practice, please let me know. I find it fascinating and would really like to know… why.

SO back to my musco….

I used a whole grain loaf, cut into a small sandwich size, and spilt in halves. The top half I spread with olive tapenade. On the bottom half I reheated my leftover ratatouille and layered it on top of some of the sauce, topping it with a slice of Muenster cheese. This is what I had available to work with and it turned out pretty good. I think a few changes would have made an even better sandwich, such as ciabatta bread, possibly even grilled panini-style. Alternatives would also be adding spinach or arugula, roasted red peppers and havarti cheese. Definitley keep the tapenade.

In the spirit of Super Healthy, Super Cheap I will be mentioning where applicable the financial aspect of certain meals. For example, this meal only cost me the tapenade and the bread ($6.98 for both, but for one serving today it only cost me $1.83)

I’m also adding a new category to my blogroll: Leftovers. I would love to hear about your leftovers and what recipes you’ve come up with.

Leave a Reply

