Romano-Crusted Chicken

If you missed my first post for today, click here and read Ghirardelli, anyone?

I got this recipe from an Every Day with Racheal Ray magazine. It’s actually called Parmigiano-Reggiano-Crusted Chicken Piccata, but you know me, I’ve gotta change up a recipe!

First, I used Romano Cheese, and it was delicious. Next, I didn’t have any lemon slices, but I did have lemon juice (from one of those plastic lemons); no fresh parsley, but I did have dried; no spinach, but I did have collard greens (lucky thing I cooked up a batch yesterday); I did not have fresh garlic, but I did have chopped from a jar; and no capers, which would officially make it a non-picatta at that point anyway. I don’t really care for capers.

After I browned the chicken, I deglazed the pan with about a tablespoon of lemon juice and threw in 2 teaspoons of chopped garlic. I let it sizzle for a few seconds before I added the wine and parsley (about 1 tablespoon of dried parsley). I let it simmer for a few minutes to cook the alcohol off a bit before I added the chicken broth, allowing for another minute of slight bubbling. Then I cut up the butter and let it melt before stirring. I spooned some of the sauce over the chicken and then added the collards to the rest of the sauce. I also poured out the pasta water before I realized I should have reserved some, but no matter, the dish did not suffer. Then I took the sauce and turned it into the pasta (I used corkscrew pasta because I had some leftover from a previous meal), then tossed in 1/8 cup of grated parmesan cheese.

I also served this dish with frozen lima beans steamed in chicken broth. The boys ate it all up!

Since I am not doing pasta right now, I made myself some sweet potato mash. All I did was cook up 2 sweet potatoes and mash them with 2 T. butter. Add a little salt to taste – yum! And there’s a whole serving leftover for my lunch tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

