Zucchini Noodles

If you missed post #1 for today click this link here and read New Year, New Box

Now, on to post #2……………….

One of my favorite dishes to make whilst eating healthy is zucchini noodles. I came across this idea several years ago from some cooking resource, I honeslty can’t remember, and as soon as I tried it I knew it was a winner.

I never was much of a spaghetti-maker. At Italian restaurants I’d never order something as plain as spaghetti because I could make that at home, whereas I don’t make canneloni. But then I realized that I really didn’t make spaghetti at home hardly ever. I make chicken parmagian and other pasta dishes, but never plain old noodles and sauce. But then I discoverd Harris Teeters pre-made turkey meatballs in the fresh meat section and I have made spaghetti quite a bit since then. So on nights I need a quick meal, spaghetti and meatballs it is. Now, I always serve my family whole wheat pasta, but during those times when I don’t want to eat any pasta at all, I make zucchini noodles for myself and regular for the boys.

How to make:

Choose 3 to 4 zucchinis, firm and ripe, and wash thoroughly. Use a vegetable peeler and peel long strips from one end to the other, using the skin because that’s the most nutritous part. Continue to peel strips all the way around the vegetable until you’ve hit the seeded core. Do what you want with the core. I eat all manner of vegetables raw so this part is good chopped up and added to a salad. Take all your “noodles” and sautee them down in a pan heated with EVOO (extra virgin olive oil), and a little salt and pepper. The zucchini will cook down considerably, so what looks like a lot when raw, does not once sauteed. Still you should get a decent sized meal out of this, possibly with a little leftovers. It should only take about 10 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the meantime have your sauce already on the stove. I use a jarred organic. I don’t have time for making tomato sauce from scratch, plus I’ve tried it and wasn’t impressed with my efforts. It seemed tedious. So if anyone out there has a fabulous red sauce recipe, I’ll be more than happy to try it. Plus, my hubby is red sauce crazy. He could probably just drink it. And I always doctor up the jarred stuff with basil and garlic, etc. Once everything is ready, just ladle up those plates of noodles with sauce and meatballs, add a little parmesan, and viola!

It’s is super yummy and healthy! Let me know if you’ve tried it and what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

