Work Your Spaces

O.M.G……..Oh Em Gee!

Does anyone else out there in blog-land get Southern Living emails? I have no idea how I got on this mailing list but check out this link on 10 Ways to Organize the Laundry Room.

For real? Did you see that last slide? If only I had that as a laundry room! I wish! And a laundry room big enough for an island?!

Here’s my laundry room. Fabulous, isn’t it?

The laundry room is off my kitchen. It is a multi-purpose room that also serves as a pantry and keeper of cleaning supplies. Not a whole lot of chances for turning it into some dream room. This looks messy, but it’s actually tidy.

Shelves serve as a pantry as you first walk in the small room. You may have even noticed boxes of food over the hanging clothes next to the washer and dryer. I definitely utilize every space. That is for sure.

One of my favorite  organizing tips I got from a friend: buy a large high-quality basket and use it to store a large volume of lunch-sized chip bags.

Behind the door is my “ironing center”- LOL. That just makes me laugh. As much as I dislike ironing, I’m sure having a special place for it wouldn’t make much difference. If you noticed in the first picture I also have a steamer, which I do use occasionally. It’s way easier to use than an iron and board. You can also see here more food storage.

The left side of the room has cabinets. The bins on the countertop store dog and cat food, respectively.

Bottom cabinets primarily hold Tupperware and the like, along with some odds and ends, including hurricane lamps and candles and emergency supplies.

The upper cabinets is where I store my cleaning supplies, dust rags, and laundry supplies. In the next cabinet there is also a shelf filled with washable to-go cups with lids for taking a drink on the go, or for that occasion when I allow popcorn and a drink to be taken upstairs for family movie night. I abhor open containers and glasses of drinks anywhere but at the table…too messy!

It may not look like much, and truth be told I would love a makeover, but many of us don’t have that luxury so you work with what you’ve got. As for my family, we live in a parsonage. Most parsonages are nice, though the furniture tends to be outdated. There are several pieces we’ve replaced in the time we’ve been here and I will hate to move away from them some day. I picked them out and treat them as my own. But still there are other pieces that in time really should be replaced. You cannot tax a church treasury all at once when there are other, more pressing financial needs. We are, of course, at complete liberty to spend our money as we see fit, and in fact I have made a few improvements of my own.

Point being, unless you design and build your own house, or change specs on a pre-fab to your standards, then you are probably working within a house you bought or are renting that isn’t 100% to your liking. You have to utilize your spaces, organize and decorate the best you can, and work with what you’ve got. That’s what I’ve tried to do. And if any of you readers out there have any great tips, please share. I’d love to hear them and see what I could use.

And the dream laundry room? Well….maybe someday 🙂

Oops! I meant to save the draft instead of post. Oh well….3 posts for you today!

Leave a Reply

